الصفحة الرئيسية / ليبيا / جودة المياه في ليبيا

جودة المياه في ليبيا

صحراء ليبيا جودة المياه في ليبيا
الصورة 1: واحة ام المعن، صحراء ليبيا. المصدر: (Markus Stöcklin, Flickr)

في دولة قاحلة إلى حدٍ كبير مثل ليبيا، تعتبر المياه النظيفة ذات قيمة بشكل أكبر لتلبية الاحتياجات البشرية والإنتاج الزراعي. قد أدى التلوث الناتج عن تسرب مياه البحر والحفر لاستخراج النفط إلى وضع جودة المياه تحت الضغط وخفض الإمداد القابل للاستخدام. وبالتالي، تعتبر جودة المياه قضية حرجة.

جودة المياه السطحية

كما ذكر في القسم السابق، فإن موارد المياه السطحية في ليبيا – من الينابيع أو التي يتم جمعها في خزانات السدود – مقيدة للغاية وتساهم بأقل من 3% من إجمالي موارد المياه المستخدمة. معظم الينابيع ذات نوعية مياه جيدة،[1] ومع ذلك، يوجد بعدد قليل منها ملوحة بمستوياتٍ تجعلها غير مناسبة للشرب. وهذه هي ينابيع بنغازي وطبرق في الجبل الأخضر، وتاورغاء، ووادي كعام، والجفارة، ونفوسة/ الحمادة.

جودة المياه الجوفية

تختلف جودة المياه الجوفية، ممثلةً بإجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة، من حوض لآخر . البيانات المقدمة هي المعلومات الوحيدة المتوفرة، حيث لا يتم إجراء رصد دوري في جميع أنحاء ليبيا.

حوض مرزق: إن طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة، والذي يتم استغلال مياهها عادةً بواسطة الآبار المحفورة يدوياً، تتراوح ملوحتها (المواد الصلبة الذائبة) بين 1000 إلى 4000 ملليغرام لكل لتر (ملغم/ لتر)، والتي قد تزيد إلى أكثر من 5000 ملغم/ لتر في محيط السبخات. تحتوي طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة، والتي يتم استغلالها بواسطة الآبار المحفورة، على محتوى قليل جداً من الملح يتراوح من 100 إلى 200 ملغم/ لتر.[2] يمثل هذا الوضع خطراً كبيراً يتمثل في اختلاط المياه من طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة مع تلك الموجودة في طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة بسبب التسرب الرأسي للأسفل . [3] [4]

سهل الجفارة

الطبقة الرباعية- البليوسينية- الميوسينية: جودة المياه من هذه الخزانات جيدة، حيث تبلغ نسبة المواد الصلبة الذائبة أقل من 1000 ملغم/لتر. تتأثر المناطق الواقعة على طول الساحل بين صبراتة والزاوية ومحيط طرابلس المباشر بتسرب مياه البحر، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة ملوحة المياه الجوفية بأكثر من 5000 ملغم/ لتر. [5]

الخزان الجوفي الرملي أبو شيبة: إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة في هذه الخزانات جيد عادةً، ويتراوح ما بين 1000 إلى 2000 ملغم/ لتر. [6]

تكوين العزيزية: بشكلٍ عام، جودة المياه متوسطة إلى سيئة، حيث تتراوح المواد الصلبة الذائبة ما بين 2000 إلى 4000 ملغم/ لتر.[7]

الكُفرة والسرير: تتمثل جودة المياه في هذه الأحواض في المياه المستخرجة من آبار الكفرة. جودة المياه ممتازة، حيث تتراوح المواد الصلبة الذائبة من 150 إلى 250 ملغم/ لتر. قد تكون نسب الملوحة في طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة أعلى بسبب التبخر الحاصل في السبخات.[8] ينتج الحجر الرملي الميزوزوي نوعية جيدة من المياه، بنسب مواد صلبة ذائبة أقل من 500 ملغم/ لتر، باستثناء الجزء العلوي من الخزان الجوفي في المناطق التي يكون فيها مستوى المياه قريباً من السطح. تشير آبار النفط المحفورة في طبقات المياه الجوفية من العصر الباليوزي إلى أن هذه المياه عذبة، بنسب مواد صلبة ذائبة أقل من 1000 ملغم/ لتر. [9]

الجبل الأخضر: تتراوح جودة المياه الجوفية في جميع أنحاء هذه المنطقة عادة ما بين 450 إلى 3000 ملغم/ لتر من المواد الصلبة الذائبة. تظهر بعض طبقات المياه الجوفية في الحوض اختلافات في الجودة حتى في نفس طبقة المياه الجوفية بسبب تعقيد نظام الترسيب البحري الكربوني. يعتبر كبريتيد الهيدروجين شائعاً في بعض الأماكن بينما يحتوي البعض الآخر على تركيزات عالية لعسر الماء. تعاني المنطقة الساحلية الشمالية من الحوض من تسرب مياه البحر نتيجة لزيادة استغلال المياه الجوفية. لهذا السبب، ترتفع ملوحة الخزان الجوفي الساحلي. [10]

أشارت دراسة حديثة إلى أن طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة في وسط ليبيا تحتوي على مياه كبريتية ساخنة (42-80 درجة مئوية) مع بعض المعادن (المغنيسيوم والحديد).[11] وخلصت الدراسة إلى أن هذا النوع من المياه يمكن استخدامه لأغراض علاجية وفقاً لمعايير المواصفات الصحية الأمريكية.

شبكة الصرف الصحي ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة

قدرت مصلحة الإحصاء والتعداد في ليبيا نسبة عدد سكان المناطق الحضرية والريفية الذين تتوفر لديهم شبكات الصرف الصحي بـ45%، في حين يتم خدمة 54% بواسطة مستودعات الصرف الصحي في الموقع. تم تجهيز شبكات الصرف الصحي بأكثر من 6000 كيلومتر من خطوط أنابيب نقل/ جمع مياه الصرف الصحي.[12] منذ عام 1971، تم بناء أكثر من 70 محطة معالجة، وأرقام أخرى إما قيد التعاقد أو تحت الإنشاء لخدمة أكثر من 400 منطقة حضرية وشبه حضرية. في الوقت الحاضر، تعمل 19 محطة فقط إلى حدٍ مقبول، وتنتج 200,000 متر مكعب في اليوم. تم تصميم محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي لإنتاج التدفقات المناسبة للري الزراعي، باستخدام تقنية معالجة الحمأة المنشطة المعدلة في المدن الكبيرة، في حين يتم استخدام برك الأكسدة في الموقع في المناطق الريفية أو المواقع البعيدة.[13]

تحسن الوصول إلى المرافق الصحية بشكلٍ أفضل في جميع أنحاء ليبيا تدريجياً في العقود الأخيرة. ووفقاً لتقرير المجلس العربي للمياه/ مركز البيئة والتنمية للمنطقة العربية وأوروبا (AWC/CEDARE)، فقد ارتفع الوصول إلى الصرف الصحي الآمن من 85% في عام 1990 إلى 97% في عام 2005.[14]

يتم تمويل بناء وتشغيل وصيانة شبكات الصرف الصحي حالياً من خلال الأموال العامة فقط، على الرغم من أن من المأمول أن يؤدي السماح بمشاركة القطاع الخاص في تنظيم القطاع إلى تغيير ذلك. [15]

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

يحصل تلوث البيئة من مصادر مختلفة، وهي تسرب مياه البحر إلى الخزان الجوفي الساحلي، وتصريف المحلول الملحي من محطات تحلية المياه، ومن مواقع مطامر البلدية غير المبطنة، والتصريف المباشر لمياه الصرف الصحي في الوديان، وإلقاء النفايات الصناعية دون ضوابط. [16] ومع ذلك، يعتبر تسرب مياه البحر نتيجة الإفراط في استخراج المياه الجوفية أخطر ملوثات المياه الجوفية. تظهر الخريطة (1) أن المنطقة الانتقالية ما بين المياه المالحة والمياه العذبة تقدمت نحو الداخل ما بين 5-10 كيلومترات في منطقة طرابلس في الفترة 1957-1995 نتيجة لانخفاض منسوب المياه الجوفية، مصحوباً بزيادة الملوحة حتى 18000 ملغم/ لتر في عام 1995. [17] [18]

Seawater Libya جودة المياه في ليبيا
الخريطة (1): خريطة تُظهر تقدم تسرّب مياه البحر في طبقة المياه الجوفية الساحلية في طرابلس (1957-1995). [19] @Fanackwater

يشار في التقارير إن محطات التحلية، سواء كانت عامة أو خاصة، تقوم بإفراغ المحلول الملحي في التربة أو مباشرة في الآبار أو شبكة الصرف الصحي أو البحر. تأثير محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي أفضل قليلاً، حيث يُزعم أنها تعمل على تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة في الأودية والمناطق المنخفضة، بينما تقوم بعض المحطات بتصريف المياه مباشرةً في البحر. [20]

تم تسجيل تركيزات عالية من النترات في طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة للمشاريع الزراعية في جنوب ليبيا وكذلك في طبقات المياه الجوفية في المناطق المكتظة بالسكان.[21] ومع ذلك، لا يزال التلوث الناجم عن الأنشطة الزراعية الشاملة نادراً.

[1] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[2] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[3] Ibid.
[4] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[5] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[9] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[10] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[11] El-Kabir A, 2019.Study of curing sulphuric water in the central part of Libya and its prospective future using GIS system. Libyan Authority of Natural Science Research and Technology unpublished report.
[12] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Ibid.
[15] Ibid.
[16] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[17] Sadeg, Saleh, 1996. Numerical Simulation of Saltwater Intrusion in Tripoli, Libya. PhD thesis, Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey.
[18] University Engineering Consulting Office, 2002.Study of the Seawater Intrusion in North West Libya. General Water Authority, unpublished report, volume II.
[19] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[20] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[21] Ibid.

Home / Libya / Water Quality in Libya

Water Quality in Libya

Libyan Sahara water quality in Libya
Photo 1: Um al Ma'an Osis, Libyan Sahara (Source: Markus Stöcklin, Flickr)

In a largely arid country like Libya, clean water is most valuable for meeting human needs and agricultural production. Contamination from seawater intrusion and oil drilling has put water quality under pressure and reduced the useable supply. Consequently, water quality is considered a critical issue.

Surface water quality

As stated in the previous section, surface water resources in Libya– from springs or captured in dam reservoirs– are highly restricted and contribute less than 3% of the total water resources in use. Most of the springs are of good water quality.[1] However, a small number have salinity levels that make them unsuitable for drinking. These are the Benghazi and Tobruk springs at Jabal al-Akhdar, Tawargha, Wadi Ekaam and Heshin Gefara and Nafusa/Hamada.

Groundwater quality

Groundwater quality, represented by the total dissolved solids (TDS), varies across basins. The data presented is the only information that exists, since no periodic monitoring is conducted across Libya.

Murzuq Basin: The shallow aquifers, usually tapped by hand-dug wells, have salinity (TDS) ranging from 1,000 to 4,000 milligrams per litre (mg/L), which may increase to more than 5,000 mg/L in the vicinity of sabkhas. The deep aquifers, which are tapped by drilled wells, have very low salt content ranging from 100 to 200 mg/L.[2]This situation presents an important risk of water from shallow aquifers mixing with that from deeper aquifers due to vertical downward leakage.[3] [4]

GefaraPlain

Quaternary-Pliocene-Miocene aquifer: The water quality of these aquifers is good, with TDS less than 1,000 mg/L. The areas along the coast between Sabratah and Zawiyah and the immediate surroundings of Tripoli are affected by seawater intrusion, resulting in an increase in groundwater salinity of more than 5,000 mg/L.[5]

Abu Shayba sandstone aquifer: TDS in these aquifers is normally good, ranging from 1,000 to 2,000 mg/L.[6]

Azizia aquifer: Generally, the water quality is medium to poor, with TDS ranging from 2,000 to 4,000 mg/L.[7]

Kufra and Sarir: The quality of water in these basins is represented by the water drawn from wells in Kufra. Water quality is excellent, with TDS ranging from 150 to 250 mg/L. Shallow aquifers may have higher salinity due to evaporation in the sabkhas.[8] Mesozoic sandstones produce good quality, with TDS less than 500 mg/L, except the upper part of the aquifer in areas where the water level is close to the surface. Oil wells drilled in Palaeozoic aquifers indicate that this water is fresh, with TDS less than 1,000mg/L.[9]

Jabal al-Akhdar: The quality of groundwater throughout this area normally varies from 450 to 3,000 mg/L. Some aquifers in the basin show variations in quality even in the same aquifer owing to the complexity of the carbonate marine depositional system. Hydrogen sulphide is common in some localities while others have high concentrations of hardness in the water. The northern coastal area of the basin suffers from seawater intrusion as a result of an increase in groundwater exploitation. For this reason, the salinity of the coastal aquifer is rising.[10]

A recent study indicated that deep aquifers in central Libya contain hot sulphuric water (42-80 degrees Celsius) with some metallic minerals (magnesium and iron).[11] The study concluded that this type of water could be used for curative purposes, according to American health specification standards.

Sanitation and wastewater treatment network

Libya’s Bureau of Statistics and Census estimated the urban and rural populations supplied by sanitary networks to be 45%, while 54% are served by onsite septic tanks. Sanitary networks are equipped with more than 6,000 kilometres of sewage collection/transport pipelines.[12] Since 1971, more than 70 WWTPs have been constructed, another numbers are either under contract or under construction to serve more than 400 urban and semi-urban areas. At present, only 19 plants are operating adequately, producing 200,000 m3/d. WWTPs are designed to produce effluents suitable for agricultural irrigation, using modified activated sludge treatment technology in large cities, whereas on-site oxidation ponds are employed in rural or remote locations.[13]

Access to better sanitation across Libya has improved gradually in the last decades. According to an AWC/CEDARE report, access to safe sanitation rose from 85% in 1990 to 97% in 2005.[14]

Construction, operation and maintenance of sanitation networks are currently financed solely by public funds, although it is hoped that allowing private sector involvement in the sector organization will change this.[15]

Environmental and health risks

Contamination of the environment is encountered from different sources, namely seawater intrusion into the coastal aquifer, brine discharge from desalination plants, unlined municipal landfill sites, direct discharge of sewage into wadis and the uncontrolled dumping of industrial waste.[16]However, seawater intrusion as a result of excessive groundwater abstraction is considered the most serious groundwater pollutant. Map 1 show the saltwater-freshwater transition zone advanced inland by between 5-10 kilometres in the Tripoli area in the period 1957-1995 as a result of the high draw down of the groundwater level, accompanied by increasing salinity up to 18,000 mg/L in 1995.[17] [18]

Seawater Libya water quality in Libya
Map1: Seawater intrusion progressive map, Tripoli coastal aquifer (1957-1995).[19] @Fanackwater

Desalination plants, whether they are public or private, reportedly discharge brine into the soil or directly into wells, the sewerage network or sea. The impact of WWTPs is little better, as they are allegedly discharging untreated waste water into wadis and depressions, with some plants discharging directly into the sea.[20]

High nitrate concentrations were recorded in shallow groundwater aquifers of agricultural projects in the south of Libya as well as in the aquifers in extremely populated areas.[21] However, contamination as a result of exhaustive agricultural activities is still rare.

[1] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[2] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[3] Ibid.
[4] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[5] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[9] Pallas P, 1980. Water resources of the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. The Geology of Libya, Second Symposium, Volume 2.
[10] ARC-ICARDA, 2008. Partnership Between the Libyan Agricultural Research Center (ARC) and the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA).
[11] El-Kabir A, 2019.Study of curing sulphuric water in the central part of Libya and its prospective future using GIS system. Libyan Authority of Natural Science Research and Technology unpublished report.
[12] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Ibid.
[15] Ibid.
[16] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[17] Sadeg, Saleh, 1996. Numerical Simulation of Saltwater Intrusion in Tripoli, Libya. PhD thesis, Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey.
[18] University Engineering Consulting Office, 2002.Study of the Seawater Intrusion in North West Libya. General Water Authority, unpublished report, volume II.
[19] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[20] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[21] Ibid.