الصفحة الرئيسية / لبنان / مصادر المياه المشتركة

مصادر المياه المشتركة

The Nahr el-Kebir River in Lebanon, which is plagued by water hyancinth. Photo: Joelle Comair.

يتشارك لبنان بالمياه السطحية والمياه الجوفية مع دولتيّ جوار، سوريا واسرائيل. يرد في الجدول (3)، الخصائص الرئيسية للأنهار المشتركة للبلاد- نهر العاصي، والنهر الكبير، ونهر الحاصباني. كما يشترك لبنان أيضاً بالمياه الجوفية مع كلا البلدين، على الرغم من وجود القليل من المعلومات حول حوض الجليل الغربي المشترك مع اسرائيل. صادق لبنان على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لعام 1997 بشأن قانون الاستخدامات غير الملاحية للمجاري المائية الدولية في عام 1999، ويستخدم مبادئها كأساس لإتفاقاته الثنائية المتعلقة بالمياه.

نهر العاصي

ينبع نهر العاصي من جبال الهرمل في منطقة البقاع شمال لبنان، ويتدفق شمالاً عبر سوريا ليصب في البحر الأبيض المتوسط بعد عبور الحدود إلى تركيا. يتغذى بشكلٍ رئيسي من المياه الجوفية التي تأتي من ذوبان الثلوج في جبل لبنان وجبال لبنان الشرقية. منابعه الرئيسية هي اللبوة، وعين الزرقا (المنبع الرئيسي)، وينابيع الدفاش في سهل البقاع. يُقدر استهلاك المياه في الجزء اللبناني من الحوض بـ12 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة المستخدم للمزارع الصغيرة ومزارع الأسماك والسياحة. كما أنها منطقة معروفة برياضة قوارب الأنهار[1].

يهدف مخطط نهر العاصي، الذي وضع بالتشاور مع الحكومة السورية، إلى تطوير الموارد المائية في الحوض للري، والاستخدام المنزلي، وتوليد الطاقة الكهرومائية. يتألف من بناء سد تحويل بسعة 27 مليون متر مكعب بالقرب من نبع عين الزرقا مع ثلاث محطات ضخ وشبكة لري حوالي 3,000 هكتار (المرحلة الأولى)، وسد عند المنبع من جسر الهرمل بسعة 37 مليون متر مكعب، لري 3800 هكتار بالإضافة إلى محطة للطاقة الكهرومائية لتوفير 50 ميجاواط/اليوم (المرحلة الثانية) لمنطقة الهرمل والقاع[2]. بدأ متعهد صيني إلى جانب شريكٍ محلي أعمال البناء على السد (المرحلة الأولى) في عام 2005، ولكن تم قصف الموقع من قِبل اسرائيل خلال حرب عام 2006. أدى هذا إلى نزاعٍ بين الحكومة اللبنانية والمتعهد على تعويض الخسائر. وبعد أن تم تشكيل لجنة خاصة في عام 2011 لمعالجة هذه المسألة، أعاد مجلس الوزراء اللبناني المفاوضة على شروط العمل لتلبية احتياجات المتعهد، حيث يجري في الوقت الراهن وضع اللمسات الأخيرة على العقد الجديد[3]. وبالإضافة إلى مشروع التنمية المخطط له، التمس لبنان مساعدة المانحين الدوليين لمراقبة المياه في الحوض، كان آخرها قيام شركة إيطالية بتركيب أجهزة رصد لجمع البيانات[4].

 

وفيما يتعلق بالإتفاقات، أعلنت سوريا ولبنان في عام 1972 أنهما وقعتا اتفاقاً يستهلك بموجبه لبنان حوالي 80 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في السنة،  إلا أن هذه الاتفاقية لم تدخل قط حيز التنفيذ. وفي عام 1976، انخرطت سوريا بقوة في أنشطة عسكرية داخل لبنان في عام 1976 واحتلت مواقع بالقرب من منابع نهر العاصي لذلك كان استخدام المياه من النهر تحت السيطرة السورية بشكلٍ كامل. وحتى شهر سبتمبر من عام 1994، وقع البلدان اتفاقاً رسمياً يمنح لبنان 80 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة بشرط أن لا تقل موارد النهر داخل لبنان عن 400 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة[5]. ومع ذلك، اعتبرت هذه الاتفاقية غير مناسبة للبنان، حيث أجريت تعديلات أدخلت حيز التنفيذ عام 1997، والتي بموجبها حددت واستثنت الأحواض الفرعية الأربعة من اليمونة، ومرجحين، وجباب الحمر، وأرغش فضلاً عن نبع اللبوة من حصة الـ80 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة للبنان، وبالتالي السماح للسكان  باستخدام مياهها للري[6]. ومع بدأ انحسار السلطة السورية على لبنان، أضيف تعديل آخر في عام 2001 يسمح للبنان ببناء سد على النهر.

Table 3. Main characteristics of shared rivers in Lebanon. Source: UN-ESCWA and BGR, 2013; Holst-Warhaft, G. and Steenhuis, T., 2010. Losing Paradise: The Water Crisis in the Mediterranean. Published by Ashgate; FAO, 2009.
الجدول (3): الخصائص الرئيسية للأنهار المشتركة في لبنان. المصدر: UN-ESCWA and BGR, 2013; Holst-Warhaft, G. and Steenhuis, T., 2010. Losing Paradise: The Water Crisis in the Mediterranean. Published by Ashgate; FAO, 2009.


[1] The Daily Star, 2011.
[2] Data from the Ministry of Energy and Water in Lebanon, 2002. Al-Assi Dam and Al-Qaa-Hermel Irrigation Project Report Issued by the General Directorate of Hydraulic and Electric Resources in Lebanon.
[3] Ministry of Energy and Water, 2015. Personal communication
[4] UNESCO, 2015.
[5] Syrian-Lebanese Higher Council, 1994.
[6] Syrian-Lebanese Higher Council, 1997.

Home / Lebanon / Shared Water Resources

Shared Water Resources

The Nahr el-Kebir River in Lebanon, which is plagued by water hyancinth. Photo: Joelle Comair.Lebanon shares surface and groundwater with its two neighbours, Syria and Israel. The main characteristics of the country’s shared rivers – the Orontes (Al-Assi), the Nahr el Kabir and the Hasbani – are presented in Table 3. Lebanon also shares groundwater with both countries, though there is little information available on the Western Galilee Basin that is shared with Israel. Lebanon ratified the 1997 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Non-Navigational Uses of International Watercourses in 1999 and uses its principles as a baseline for its bilateral agreements on water.

Orontes (Al-Assi) River

The Orontes or Al-Assi River rises from the Hermel Mountain(s) in the northern Bekaa region of Lebanon, flows northwards through Syria to discharge in the Mediterranean Sea after crossing into Turkey. It is mainly fed by groundwater that originates from snowmelt in Mount Lebanon and the Anti-Lebanon. Its main sources are the Al-Labweh, Ain Zarqa (main flow contributor) and Daffash Springs in the Bekaa Valley. Water use in the Lebanese part of the basin is estimated at 21 MCM/yr, and consists of small-scale farming, fish farms and tourism. It is also a popular area for rafting.[1]

Developed in consultation with the Syrian government, the Assi scheme aims to develop water resources in the basin for irrigation, domestic use and hydropower. It consists of the construction of a 27 MCM diversion dam near the Ain Zarqa Spring with three pumping stations and an irrigation network for around 3,000 ha (Phase I), and a 37 MCM dam upstream of the Hermel Bridge to irrigate 3,800 ha as well as a hydroelectric power plant to provide 50 MW/day (Phase II) in the regions of Hermel and Al-Qaa.[2] A Chinese contractor working with a local partner started construction work on the dam (Phase I) in 2005, but the site was bombed by Israel during the 2006 war. This led to a dispute between the Lebanese government and the contractor on compensation for losses. After a special committee was formed in 2011 to address the issue, the Lebanese Council of Ministers renegotiated the work terms to meet the contractor’s demands, and the new contract is currently being finalized.[3] In addition to the planned development schemes, Lebanon has solicited international donors for assistance in water monitoring in the basin. Most recently the Italian Cooperation installed meteorological stations for data collection.[4]

In terms of agreements, Syria and Lebanon announced in 1972 that they had signed an agreement whereby Lebanon would use about 80 MCM/yr, but this agreement never came into force. In 1976 Syria became actively engaged in military activities in Lebanon and occupied positions near the headwaters of the Orontes so that water use from the river was strictly under Syrian control. It was not until September 1994 that the two countries officially signed an agreement granting Lebanon 80 MCM/yr on the condition that the river’s resources within Lebanon reached at least 400 MCM/yr.[5] This agreement was, however, not considered favourable to Lebanon, and an amendment was effected in 1997 which identified and excluded the four sub-basins of Yammouneh, Marjhine, Jabal al-Homr and Orghosh as well as the Labweh Spring from Lebanon’s 80 MCM/yr share, thus allowing the population to use its waters for irrigation.[6] As Syria’s power over Lebanon started to recede, a further amendment was added in 2001 allowing Lebanon to construct a dam on the river.

Table 3. Main characteristics of shared rivers in Lebanon. Source: UN-ESCWA and BGR, 2013; Holst-Warhaft, G. and Steenhuis, T., 2010. Losing Paradise: The Water Crisis in the Mediterranean. Published by Ashgate; FAO, 2009.
Table 3. Main characteristics of shared rivers in Lebanon. Source: UN-ESCWA and BGR, 2013; Holst-Warhaft, G. and Steenhuis, T., 2010. Losing Paradise: The Water Crisis in the Mediterranean. Published by Ashgate; FAO, 2009.


[1] The Daily Star, 2011.
[2] Data from the Ministry of Energy and Water in Lebanon, 2002. Al-Assi Dam and Al-Qaa-Hermel Irrigation Project Report Issued by the General Directorate of Hydraulic and Electric Resources in Lebanon.
[3] Ministry of Energy and Water, 2015. Personal communication.
[4] UNESCO, 2015. Science Diplomacy and Trans-boundary Water Management: The Orontes River Case.
[5] Syrian-Lebanese Higher Council, 1994.
[6] Syrian-Lebanese Higher Council, 1997.