الصفحة الرئيسية / لبنان / ترشيد استهلاك المياه

ترشيد استهلاك المياه

Olive grove at Koura, Lebanon. Photo: Rabih.

في عام 2000، نشرت وزارة الطاقة والمياه خطة لإدارة المياه ومياه الصرف الصحي تمتد لعشر سنوات استناداً إلى مبادىء الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية. وبذلك، شكلّت أساساً للإستراتيجية الوطنية لقطاع المياه للفترة  2010 (NWSS)، التي اعتمدها مجلس الوزراء عام 2012. تم تصميم الاستراتيجية الوطنية لقطاع المياه لضمان “خدمات إمدادات المياه والري والصرف الصحي في جميع أرجاء لبنان على أساس مستمر، وبمستوى خدمات أمثل، مع الالتزام بالاستدامة البيئية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية.”[1] وهي تحدد سلسلة من تدابير البُنية التحتية، والتدابير التقنية والمؤسسية التي يجب أن تطبق في القطاع، وتشتمل على خطط للحفاظ على المياه، والحد من معدلات الهدر واعتماد تقنيات الري الحديثة. ومع ذلك، أدت التأجيلات السياسية والمتعلقة بالميزانية إلى إبطاء تنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية لقطاع المياه، وحتى الآن ركزت الجهود المبذولة، بشكلٍ رئيسي، على زيادة إمدادات المياه.

وفي محاولة لتشجيع المستخدمين المحليين للحدّ من استهلاكهم للمياه خلال الجفاف الشديد في صيف عام 2014، أطلقت وزارة الطاقة والمياه عدة حملات للتوعية العامة. ومع ذلك، لم تحقق هذه الحملات سوى نجاحاً محدوداً، ذلك أن فترة الجفاف تزامنت مع النقص في المياه الذي كان على أشّده بالفعل. وعلاوة على ذلك، بما أن المستخدمين يدفعون سعراً موحداً لاستهلاك المياه، بالإضافة إلى عدم وجود تدابير لمعاقبة الاستخدام المسرف للمياه، لا يوجد حافز كبير لترشيد استهلاك المياه.

وإلى جانب الجهود الحكومية لترشيد استهلاك المياه، كان هناك أيضاً مبادرات ممولة من الجهات المانحة، على نطاقٍ ضيق، لترشيد وإعادة استخدام المياه، مثل إعادة استخدام المياه الرمادية وجمع مياه الأمطار. وفي حين تبقى مثل هذه المشاريع مشتتة إلى حد كبير، إلا أنها حفزت المجتمعات والمانحين ويمكن أن تشّكل حافزاً لمزيد من التطورات في هذا المجال[2].

Vineyard in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon. Photo: Rabih.
كرم عنب في سهل البقاع، لبنان. الصورة: Rabih


[1] MEW, 2010.
[2] Farajalla and Brown, 2010; Mcllwaine, S. and Redwood, M., 2010; Karam et al., 2013.

Home / Lebanon / Reducing Water Use

Reducing Water Use

Olive grove at Koura, Lebanon. Photo: Rabih.

In 2000, the Ministry of Energy and Water published a ten-year water and wastewater management plan based on the principles of Integrated Water Resources Management. It formed the basis for the 2010 National Water Sector Strategy (NWSS), which was adopted by the Council of Ministers in 2012. The NWSS is designed to ensure “water supply, irrigation and sanitation services throughout Lebanon on a continuous basis and at optimal service levels, with a commitment to environmental, economic and social sustainability”.[1] It outlines a series of infrastructural, technical and institutional measures that are to be implemented in the sector and includes plans to conserve water, reduce the rates of water unaccounted for and adopt modern irrigation techniques. However, budgetary and political delays have slowed the implementation of the NWSS and so far efforts have mainly focused on increasing water supplies.

In an effort to encourage domestic users to reduce their water use during the severe drought in the summer of 2014, the Ministry of Energy and Water launched several public awareness campaigns. However, these campaigns had limited success as they were launched when the drought and the water shortages that came with it were already in full swing. Moreover, as users pay a flat rate for water consumption and there are no measures to penalize wasteful use, there is little incentive to save water.

Besides government efforts to reduce water use, there have also been small-scale donor-funded initiatives to conserve and reuse water, such as greywater reuse and rainwater harvesting. While such projects remain very scattered, they have motivated communities and donors and can form an incentive for further developments in this area.[2]

Vineyard in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon. Photo: Rabih.
Vineyard in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon. Photo: Rabih.


[1] MEW, 2010.
[2] Farajalla and Brown, 2010; Mcllwaine, S. and Redwood, M., 2010; Karam et al., 2013.