الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن / إدارة المياه

إدارة المياه

Water tanks in Za’atari camp, Jordan, 2013. Photo: UNICEF Jordan.
خزانات المياه في مخيم الزعتري، الأردن، 2013. صور: اليونيسف الأردن.

دفع تزايد ندرة المياه الحكومة الأردنية لتطوير استراتيجية لإدارة الطلب على المياه لتحقيق الحد الأقصى من كفاءة استخدام المياه وتقليل الهدر. وتتضمن الاستراتيجية تدابير لزيادة كفاءة الري، وتوسيع استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في القطاع الزراعي، وعلى المدى الطويل، مواصلة تحلية مياه البحر في العقبة، وربما كجزء من مشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والميت.

المؤسسات

يشارك عدد كبير من اللاعبين الوطنيين والدوليين في قطاع المياه الأردني، مما ينتج عنه بُنية قرار مُعقدة، الأمر الذي يؤدي في بعض الأحيان إلى تداخل وظائف المؤسسات والمنظمات. سنلقي الضوء فقط على الجهات الفاعلة على المستوى الوطني في هذا التقرير.

  1. وزارة المياه والري، التي أسست عام 1988، هي المؤسسة الحكومية الرئيسية في الأردن. تعمل الوزارة على مستوى رسم السياسات وهي المسؤولة عن وضع استراتيجية المياه في البلاد، وخلق خطة رئيسية وطنية لاستخدام المياه، وإعداد دراسات المياه ومراقبة الموارد المائية.
  2. تعمل سُلطة المياه الأردنية تحت إشراف وزارة المياه والري وهي مسؤولة عن الإدارة التنفيذية للموارد المائية وتنظيم إمدادات المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المرتفعات. على سبيل المثال، تمتلك السلطة تفويضاً لإدارة موارد المياه الجوفية المهددة من خلال سيطرتها على تراخيص ضخ المياه الجوفية.
  3. تعمل سُلطة وادي الأردن أيضاً في إطار وزارة المياه والري. يقع اختصاصها العام ضمن وضع خطة وشروط التنمية الشاملة (الزراعية، والصناعية، وأغراض البلديات والسياحة) في منطقة وادي الأردن ولحماية جميع الموارد المائية في الوادي.

دور القطاع الخاص

وضعت سلطة المياه الأردنية سياسة السماح بالمبادرات الخاصة في قطاع المياه على شكل شركات المياه الخاصة والشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص. شركة مياه العقبة، المسؤولة عن إمدادات المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، من الأمثلة على شركات المياه التي يُسيطر على حصة كبيرة منها القطاع الخاص. ومثال آخر محطة السمرا لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، المسؤولة عن مياه الصرف الصحي في منطقة عمّان. يوضح الهيكل التنظيمي للمحطة كيف يمكن للخبراء من القطاع الخاص مساعدة سلطة المياه الحكومية الأردنية في تحسين منشآتها.

كما بدأت وزارة المياه والري أيضاً في تنفيذ مبادىء الملكية الخاصة في الشركات المملوكة للحكومة التي أنشئت حديثاً، مثل شركة مياه العقبة، مياهنا، على سبيل المثال. وينعكس نجاحها في سرعة التحصيل، والمرونة في الاستجابة لاحتياجات الناس، وتنفيذ مشاريع جديدة. وتعتزم وزارة المياه والري نسخ هذه العملية عن طريق إنشاء شركات للمياه على نفس المبدأ في كل من محافظات الكرك ومعان والطفيلة الجنوبية. [1]


[1] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2012. Annual Report.

Home / Jordan / Water Management

Water Management

Water tanks in Za’atari camp, Jordan, 2013. Photo: UNICEF Jordan.
Water tanks in Za’atari camp, Jordan, 2013. Photo: UNICEF Jordan.

Growing water scarcity has driven the Jordanian government to develop a water demand management strategy to maximize water use efficiency and minimize wastage. The strategy includes measures to increase irrigation efficiency, broaden the use of treated wastewater in the agricultural sector and, in the longer term, carry out seawater desalination at Aqaba, possibly as part of the Red Sea-Dead Sea Project.

Institutions

A great number of national and international players are involved in the Jordanian water sector, which results in a complex governance structure in which institutions and organizations sometimes have overlapping functions. We will only highlight the main actors at the national level in this report.

  1. Established in 1988, the Ministry of Water and Irrigation (MWI) is the main public water institution in Jordan. The ministry operates at policy-making level and is responsible for outlining the country’s water strategy, creating the national master plan for water use, preparing water studies and monitoring water resources.
  2. The Water Authority of Jordan operates under the MWI and is responsible for the operational management of water resources and the organization of water supply and wastewater treatment in the highlands. For example, the authority has the mandate to manage threatened groundwater resources through its control over groundwater pumping licences.
  3. The Jordan Valley Authority also operates under the MWI. Its overall mandate was to create a plan and conditions for comprehensive development (farming, industrial, municipal and tourist purposes) in the Jordan Valley area and to protect all water resources in the valley.

Role of the private sector

The Water Authority of Jordan has developed a policy to allow private initiative in the water sector in the form of private water companies and public-private partnerships. Aqaba Water, which handles water supply and wastewater treatment, is an example of a water company with a large share of private control. Another example is the al-Samra wastewater treatment plant, which handles the wastewater of the Amman region. The organizational set-up of the plant demonstrates how private experts can help the public Water Authority of Jordan to optimize its facilities.

The MWI has also started implementing private-ownership principles in newly established government-owned companies, such as the Aqaba water company, Miyahuna, for example. Its success is reflected in the resultant speed and flexibility in responding to people’s needs and implementing new projects. MWI intends to replicate this process by establishing water companies along the same principles in the southern governorates of Karak, Tafileh and Maan.[1]


[1] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2012. Annual Report.