الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن / البُنية التحتية للمياه / مشاريع البُنية التحتية الحالية والمُخطط لها

مشاريع البُنية التحتية الحالية والمُخطط لها

منذ الخمسينيات وحتى عام 2008، شيّد الأردن 28 سداً بسعة إجمالية قدرها 368 مليون متر مكعب من أجل توفير موارد المياه لأعداد السكان المتزايدة[1]. يعرض الشكل 14 لمحة عامة عن السدود الرئيسية بالإضافة إلى سعاتها التخزينية[2].

Figure 14. Dams along rivers and side valleys in Jordan, with their annual storage capacity (MCM/yr). Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.
الشكل (14): السدود على طول الأنهر والأودية الجانبية في الأردن، إلى جانب سعتها التخزينية السنوية (مليون متر مكعب/ السنة). المصدر: فاناك عن Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.

في عام 2013، امتلك الأردن أيضاً 30 محطة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. وإلى جانب محطة السمرا، جميع هذه المحطات لديها نسبياً قدرة استيعابية صغيرة[3].

المشروعين الرئيسين لزيادة إمدادات المياه العذبة في الأردن هما مشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والميت، ومشروع جر مياه حوض الديسي الجوفي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك مشاريع جارية لتحسين فعالية وجودة أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في مخيمات اللاجئين. يتم وصف هذه الجهود أدناه.

The Disi Water Conveyance Project pipeline, Jordan. Photo: Eddie Gerald.
خط أنابيب وسائل النقل مشروع الديسي المياه في الأردن. صور: إدي جيرالد.

 مشروع جر مياه الديسي إلى عمّان وغيرها من المدن الأردنية من حوض الديسي الجوفي، الذي يقع في جنوب شرق البلاد على الحدود مع المملكة العربية السعودية. وفي حين يُصنف بأنه حوض أحفوري، إلا أنه في الواقع يتجدد بمعدل سنوي يبلغ 50 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً. بدأ العمل على مشروع الديسي عام 2009، وأصبح جاهزاً للعمل بحلول عام 2013، بتكلفة قدرها حوالي 1,1 مليار دولار. ومنذ عام 2013، نقل مشروع جر مياه الديسي حوالي 100 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً من المياه إلى عمّان والعقبة. ووفقاً لوزارة المياه والري الأردنية، من المتوقع أن يزوّد هذا المشروع عمّان بـ100 مليون متر مكعب من المياه سنوياً حتى عام 2022 على الأقل.[4]

إنّ حوض مياه الديسي الجوفي مشترك مع المملكة العربية السعودية، التي تستخرج أيضاً المياه من هذا المصدر. وفي حين تصر كلا البلدين على ضرورة قيام البلد الآخر بخفض معدلات الإستخراج، إلا أنه لا يوجد في الوقت الراهن أي اتفاق لتقاسم المياه بين الأردن والمملكة العربية السعودية فيما يتعلق بحوض الديسي (المياه المشتركة).

مشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والميت: يعتبر ميناء العقبة على البحر الأحمر المنفذ البحري الوحيد للأردن[5]. وفي حين لا تحتاج العقبة حالياً إلى تحلية مياه البحر حيث تحصل في الوقت الراهن على مياهها من حوض الديسي الجوفي، إلا أن الحكومة تخطط لتنفيذ مشروع ضخم لتحلية المياه ونقلها في المدينة. وفي عام 2013، وقّع الأردن اتفاقية مع اسرائيل وفلسطين للتنفيذ المشترك لمشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والميت، وهو مشروع إقليمي لزيادة إمدادات المياه إلى الدول الثلاث من خلال تحلية مياه البحر وتعويض النقص في مياه البحر الميت بالمحلول الملحي الناتج عن عملية تحلية المياه .[6]

وبعد معاهدة السلام لعام 1994، أصبح تنفيذ قناة تربط بين البحر الأحمر والبحر الميت نقطة محورية في التعاون الإسرائيلي- الأردني. وفي فبراير 2015، وقع الأردن واسرائيل على اتفاقية لتنفيذ المرحلة الأولى من المشروع بتكلفة 900 مليون دولار خلال فترة ثلاث سنوات. وتتضمن المرحلة الأولى من المشروع بناء محطة تحلية في العقبة وخط أنابيب بطول 180 كيلو متر بين البحر الأحمر والبحر الميت[7].

ستنتج المحطة مبدئياً حوالي 80 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً من المياه العذبة، حيث يتم شراء 40 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً منها بسعر التكلفة من قِبل اسرائيل لاستخدامها في منطقة إيلات ووداي عربة[8]. أما ما تبقى من المياه العذبة فستكون متاحة لمدينة العقبة لتقليل اعتمادها على مياه حوض الديسي. وكجزء من الاتفاقية، ستبيع اسرائيل الأردن 50 مليون متر مكعب إضافية من المياه العذبة في السنة من بحيرة طبريا في الشمال، والتي سيتم تحويلها للاستخدام في عمّان. [9]

Figure 15. Red Sea-Dead Sea Project. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.
الشكل (15): مشروع ناقل البحرين بين البحر الأحمر والميت. المصدر فاناك عن Altz-Stamm, A., 2012

وسينقل خط الأنابيب من البحر الميت مبدئياً ما يصل إلى 120 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً من المياه شديدة الملوحة (ماء مالح عالي التركيز)، الذي يعتبر نتيجة ثانوية لعملية تحلية مياه البحر. سيعمل هذا على إعادة تأهيل البحر الميت، الذي لا زال يتقلّص بمعدل 1متر/ السنة أو أكثر على مدى السنوات الثلاثين الماضية. ومع توسع محطة تحلية المياه في العقبة، يمكن ضخ ما يصل إلى 2,000 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً من المياه شديدة الملوحة إلى البحر الميت في المستقبل (الشكل 15). [10]

وفي حين يُثني مؤيدو المشروع على طبيعته الإقليمية ويعتبرونه حلاً مبتكراً لإنقاذ البحر الميت، يخشى النقاد من الآثار المترتبة على خلط المياه شديدة الملوحة من البحر الأحمر مع مياه البحر الميت. يمتلك كل من المسطحين المائيين محتوىً معدنياً مختلفاً جداً، ويشعر خبراء البيئة بالقلق من أنّ صب المياه شديدة الملوحة من البحر الأحمر ستغيّر من تركيبة مياه البحر الميت.[11]

كما تشكل إدارة إمدادات المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في مخيمات اللاجئين تحدياً رئيسياً آخر للحكومة الأردنية، سيما في شمال البلاد حيث تتركز غالبية المخيمات. تحتاج مياه الصرف الصحي في هذه المخيمات إلى إدارتها بشكل فعّال وآمن، من أجل حماية المجتمعات المحلية وموارد المياه الجوفية التي تم بناء المخيمات فوقها[12].

لمعالجة بعض هذه التحديات، قامت منظمة Mercy Corps وهي منظمة أمريكية غير حكومية، بالتعاون مع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية (USAID)، ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (UNICEF)، والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (UNHCR)، بالاستثمار بعدد من مشاريع البُنية التحتية للمياه:[13]


  • مخيم الزعتري للاجئين: بئرين جديدين ومحطات ضخ لخدمة السكان اللاجئين البالغ عددهم 120,000. التكلفة: 450,000 دولار.

  • مشروع بئر طبقة فحل: تجديد وتوسعة، لتزويد 63,000 مستخدم إضافي بـ80 لتر في اليوم. التكلفة: 259,000 دولار

  • خزان زبدة: مشروع تجديد لإصلاح التسريبات وتركيب العزل، مما يوفر 80 لتر في اليوم من المياه لـ27,000 مستخدم. التكلفة: 530,000 دولار.

  • خط أنابيب أبو البصل: تركيب 2,5 كيلو متر من الأنابيب لتوسعة شبكة المياه ومعالجة النقص في حالات الطوارىء في المناطق المتضررة من اللاجئين. التكلفة: 70,000 دولار.

  • قطع الغيار: لتوفير الاستجابة السريعة لتعطل الشبكة، والحد من نطاق الانقطاع، وتمكين الصيانة، توفر منظمة Mercy Corps قطع الغيار للهيئة المحلية (قُدرت قيمة القطع بـ400,000 دولار منذ أكتوبر 2013).

The King Talal Dam, Jordan. Photo: Nick Fraser.
سد الملك طلال، الأردن. صور: نيك فريزر.


[1] al-Ansari, N., 2014. ‘Water Demand Management in Jordan’. Engineering, 6(1): 19-26.
[2] Altz-Stamm, A., 2012. ‘Jordan’s Water Resource Challenges and the Prospects for Sustainability’. GIS for Water Resources.
[3] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[4] Mercy Corps, 2014. Tapped Out: Water Scarcity and Refugee Pressure in Jordan.
[5] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[6] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[7] Reuters, 2015. ‘Jordan, Israel agree $900 million Red Sea-Dead Sea project’. 26 February 2015
[8] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[9] Reuters, 2015. ‘Jordan, Israel agree $900 million Red Sea-Dead Sea project’. 26 February 2015.
[10] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[11] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[12] Mercy Corps, 2014. Tapped Out: Water Scarcity and Refugee Pressure in Jordan.
[13] Ibid.

Home / Jordan / Water Infrastructure / Current and Planned Infrastructural Projects

Current and Planned Infrastructural Projects

From the 1950s until 2008, Jordan constructed 28 dams with a total capacity of 368 MCM in order to provide water resources for the growing population.[1] Figure 14 presents an overview of the main dams with their storage capacity[2]:

Figure 14. Dams along rivers and side valleys in Jordan, with their annual storage capacity (MCM/yr). Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.
Figure 14. Dams along rivers and side valleys in Jordan, with their annual storage capacity (MCM/yr). Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.

In 2013, Jordan also had 30 wastewater treatment plants. Besides the al-Samra plant, these plants all have a relatively small capacity.[3]

The two main projects to increase Jordan’s freshwater supply are the Red Sea-Dead Sea Project and the Disi Aquifer Water Conveyance Project. In addition, projects are underway to improve the effectiveness and quality of wastewater treatment systems in refugee camps. These efforts are described below.

The Disi Water Conveyance Project pipeline, Jordan. Photo: Eddie Gerald.
The Disi Water Conveyance Project pipeline, Jordan. Photo: Eddie Gerald.

The Disi Project transports water to Amman and other Jordanian cities from the Disi Aquifer, which is located in the country’s southeast on the border with Saudi Arabia. While classified as a fossil aquifer, it is actually replenished at an annual rate of about 50 MCM/yr. Construction of the Disi Project began in 2009 and became operational by 2013, at a cost of about $1.1 billion. Since 2013, the Disi water conveyance has transported about 100 MCM/yr to Amman and Aqaba. According to the Ministry of Water and Irrigation (MWI), this project is expected to provide Amman with 100 MCM/yr until at least 2022.[4]

The Disi Aquifer is shared with Saudi Arabia, which also extracts water from this resource. While both countries continue to insist that the other country should reduce its extraction rate, there is currently no water-sharing agreement between Jordan and Saudi Arabia concerning Disi (Shared Water Resources).

The Red Sea-Dead Sea Project: Jordan’s only access to the sea is at the Red Sea port of Aqaba.[5] While Aqaba has no immediate need for seawater desalination as it currently gets its water from the Disi Aquifer, the government plans to implement a major desalination and water transfer project here. In 2013, Jordan signed an agreement with Israel and Palestine for the joint implementation of the Red Sea-Dead Sea Project, a regional project to increase water supply to the three countries through seawater desalination and replenish the Dead Sea with the brine from the desalination process.[6]

After the peace treaty in 1994, the implementation of a canal linking the Red Sea and the Dead Sea became the focal point of Israeli-Jordanian cooperation. In February 2015, Jordan and Israel signed an agreement to implement the first phase of the project at a cost of $900 million over a period of three years. This first phase of the project includes the construction of a desalination plant at Aqaba and a 180-km pipeline between the Red Sea and the Dead Sea.[7]

The plant will initially produce around 80 MCM/yr of fresh water, of which 40 MCM/yr will be purchased at cost by Israel for use in the area of Eilat and in the Arava Valley.[8] The rest of the fresh water will be available to the city of Aqaba and reduce its reliance on the Disi Aquifer. As part of the agreement, Israel will sell Jordan an additional 50 MCM/yr of fresh water from Lake Tiberias in the north, which will be transferred for use in Amman.[9]

Figure 15. Red Sea-Dead Sea Project. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.
Figure 15. Red Sea-Dead Sea Project. Source: Fanack after Altz-Stamm, A., 2012.

The pipeline to the Dead Sea will initially transport up to 120 MCM/yr of brine (highly concentrated saline water), a by-product of the desalination process. This will serve to rehabilitate the Dead Sea, which has been shrinking at a rate of 1 m/yr or more for the past 30 years. As the desalination plant in Aqaba expands, up to 2,000 MCM/yr of brine could be pumped to the Dead Sea in the future (Fig. 15).[10]

While advocates of the project praise its regional nature and consider this an innovative solution to save the Dead Sea, critics worry about the implications of mixing the brine of Red Sea water into the Dead Sea. The two water bodies have very different mineral contents, and environmental experts are concerned that the addition of Red Sea brine will alter the composition of Dead Sea water.[11]

The management of water supply and wastewater treatment in refugee camps is another major challenge for the Jordanian government, especially in the north of the country where the majority of the camps are concentrated. The wastewater from these camps needs to be effectively and safely managed, in order to protect the local communities and the groundwater resources over which the camps are built.[12]

To address some of these challenges, the American NGO Mercy Corps with the support of USAID, UNICEF and UNHCR, has invested in a number of water infrastructure projects:[13]


  • Zaatari Refugee Camp: Two new wells and pump stations to serve a refugee population of 120,000. Cost: $450,000.

  • Tabaqet Fahel Well Project: Renovation and expansion, providing an additional 63,000 users with 80 litres per day. Cost: $250,000.

  • Zabdah Reservoir: Renovation project fixing leaks and installing insulation, saving enough to water to provide 27,000 users with 80 litres per day. Cost: $530,000.

  • Abu al-Basal Pipeline: Installed 2.5 km of pipes to extend the water network and address emergency shortages in a refugee-affected area. Cost: $70,000.

  • Spare parts: To enable quick responses to network breaks, reduce the scope of interruptions and enable maintenance, Mercy Corps provides spare parts to the local utility (parts valued at $400,000 as of October 2013).

The King Talal Dam, Jordan. Photo: Nick Fraser.
The King Talal Dam, Jordan. Photo: Nick Fraser.


[1] al-Ansari, N., 2014. ‘Water Demand Management in Jordan’. Engineering, 6(1): 19-26.
[2] Altz-Stamm, A., 2012. ‘Jordan’s Water Resource Challenges and the Prospects for Sustainability’. GIS for Water Resources.
[3] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[4] Mercy Corps, 2014. Tapped Out: Water Scarcity and Refugee Pressure in Jordan.
[5] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[6] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[7] Reuters, 2015. ‘Jordan, Israel agree $900 million Red Sea-Dead Sea project’. 26 February 2015.
[8] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[9] Reuters, 2015. ‘Jordan, Israel agree $900 million Red Sea-Dead Sea project’. 26 February 2015.
[10] Ministry of Water and Irrigation, 2015. Personal interview.
[11] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[12] Mercy Corps, 2014. Tapped Out: Water Scarcity and Refugee Pressure in Jordan.
[13] Ibid.