الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن / البُنية التحتية للمياه

البُنية التحتية للمياه

Al Mujib Dam, Jordan. Photo: Bernard Gagnon.
سد الموجب، الأردن. الصورة: برنارد غانيون.

أنظمة جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

كما هو مُبيّن في القسم الموارد المائية ، تأتي مصادر المياه الرئيسية في الأردن من مصادر المياه السطحية والمياه الجوفية. تقليدياً، على مدى آلاف السنين، كان يتم الوصول إلى مصادر المياه هذه محلياً من قِبل المزارعين باستخدام تقنيات الري الأساسية، والرعاة الرُحل لسقي مواشيهم، وأهالي البلدة إما بالاستخراج المباشر من النهر، أو من الأودية[1] (خلال مواسم الأمطار)، والينابيع الطبيعية (بما في ذلك الواحات)، والآبار المحفورة يدوياً. ومع تطور التكنولوجيا، تم أيضاً إدراج حصاد المياه وتخزينها، بما في ذلك مياه الأمطار. كان يتم جمع مياه الأمطار وتخزينها في خزانات تحت الأرض شيّدت لهذا الغرض. كما تم بناء السدود والبرك الاصطناعية لجمع واحتجاز المياه من الأودية لتكون متاحة للاستخدام على مدار العام. حتى أن المياه المُستخدمة في المساجد للوضوء قبل أداء الصلاة كان يتم جمعها وإعادة تدويرها لاستخدامها في الحدائق. ومن المثير للاهتمام، فقد تم مؤخراً فقط إعادة النظر بهذه الطرق التقليدية[2] وأعيد تقديمها بطريقة أكثر منهجية لزيادة توافر المياه للاستخدام المنزلي المحلي والزراعي.

وعلى مدى السنوات الخمسين الماضية، نمى الأردن كبلد عصري مع توسع المراكز الحضرية، كما ازداد الطلب المنزلي والزراعي والصناعي على المياه. ومن أجل تلبية هذه الاحتياجات، تم تبني تنفيذ التكنولوجيات القياسية المستخدمة في جميع أنحاء العالم، فقد تم بناء سدود ضخمة لجمع ومراقبة المياه السطحية. كما تم إنشاء أنظمة ضخ وأنابيب ضخمة لنقل المياه من السدود ومصادر المياه الجوفية (انظر القسم الموارد المائية) إلى حيث تبرز الحاجة إليها في المدن الكبيرة، وللاستخدام الصناعي، وللري الزراعي.

ومع استمرار الطلب على المياه في الأردن، يتواصل أيضاً نمو الضغط على الموارد المائية الطبيعية في البلاد، وبالتالي اتساع الفجوة بين العرض والطلب. وبما أنّ الأردن لم يعد يستطيع الاعتماد فقط على موارده الطبيعية للمياه، فمن الضروري البحث عن مصادر بديلة للمياه. أحد الموارد التي يتم بالفعل استخدامها هي مياه الصرف الصحي المنزلية، التي تتم معالجتها وإعادة استخدامها كمصدر بديل للمياه، وبخاصة للري الزراعي[3]. وكما نوقش سابقاً في القسم استهلاك المياه ، استخدم القطاع الزراعي عام 2013 حوالي 53% من إمدادات المياه في البلاد. وحالياً، ما بين خُمس وربع هذه الكمية يتم توفيرها من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة. وفي حين تعتبر هذه بداية جيدة، إلا أنه تبرز الحاجة إلى المزيد، بحيث يمكن تلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه العذبة في القطاع المنزلي.

يخطط الأردن للاستثمار بشكل كبير في تطوير وصيانة البنية التحتية الحالية للمياه، حيث أن المستوى الحالي من هدر الموارد المائية مكلف. فعلى سبيل المثال، تصل تقديرات الخسائر الحالية بسبب التسريبات في شبكة المياه إلى 50%. [4] إنّ صيانة سدود التخزين، وإعادة تأهيل أنظمة معالجة وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي، وشبكات توزيع المياه، وزيادة إمدادات المياه في المناطق الحضرية من الأولويات الرئيسية في الوقت الراهن[5].

بالإضافة لذلك، ليتمكن الأردن من تلبية احتياجاته المتنامية، عليه توسعة إمدادات المياه في البلاد من خلال استغلال موارد جديدة (أنظر القسم مشاريع البُنية التحتية الحالية والمُخطط لها). إن تحسين الاستفادة من إمدادات المياه المحدودة باستخدام الإمدادات الحالية بشكل أكثر كفاءة أمر بالغ الأهمية. وهذا يشمل التركيز على الحفاظ على المياه، والحد من التسرب  في الأنظمة وزيادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي.[6]

Water tanker delivering water to residential area, Jordan. Photo: High contrast.
صهريج مياه إيصال المياه إلى منطقة سكنية، الأردن. الصورة: High contrast


[1] Wadis are streambeds or gullies that are dry except in the rainy season.
[2] EDM Global, 2015. Every drop matters. See www.everydropmatters.com/global-edm/jordan/ for project overview.
[3] Ghneim, A., 2011. Wastewater Reuse and Management in the Middle East and North Africa: A Case Study of Jordan. MSc Dissertation. Published by Universitätsverlag der TU Berlin.
[4] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[5] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[6] Ibid.

Home / Jordan / Water Infrastructure

Water Infrastructure

Al Mujib Dam, Jordan. Photo: Bernard Gagnon.
Al Mujib Dam, Jordan. Photo: Bernard Gagnon.

Traditional water collection and distribution systems

As outlined in ‘Water Resources’, Jordan’s main water resources come from surface water and groundwater sources. Traditionally, over thousands of years, these water sources were accessed locally by farmers using basic irrigation techniques, nomadic herders watering their herds, and townspeople either extracting directly from the river, or from wadis[1] (during the rainy seasons), natural springs (including oases) and hand-dug wells. As technology developed, harvesting and storage of water, including rainwater, was introduced. Rainwater was captured and stored in constructed underground cisterns. Dams and artificial pools were built to capture and retain water from the wadis to be available for use throughout the year. Even the water used in mosques for washing before prayer was captured and recycled for use in gardens. Interestingly, these traditional methods have only recently been re-examined[2] and reintroduced in a more systematic way to increase the availability of water for local domestic use and irrigation.

Over the last 50 years, Jordan has grown as a modern country with expanding urban centres, and domestic, agricultural and industrial demand for water has increased. In order to meet these needs, standard technologies used worldwide have been put in place. Large dams have been built to capture and control surface water. Large pumping and piping systems have been established to move water from the dams and groundwater sources (see ‘Water Resources’) to where it is needed in the big cities, for industrial use, and for agricultural irrigation.

As water demand in Jordan continues to increase, stress on the country’s natural water resources continues to grow as well, widening the gap between supply and demand. As Jordan can no longer depend only on its natural water resources, it is necessary to look for alternative sources of water. One of the sources already being harnessed is domestic wastewater, which is treated and reused as an alternative water supply, especially for agricultural irrigation.[3] As discussed in ‘Water Use’, in 2013 the agricultural sector used around 53% of the country’s water supply. Currently, between a fifth and a quarter of this amount is being provided by treated wastewater. While this is a good start, more is needed, so that the growing demand for fresh water in the domestic sector can be met.

Jordan plans to invest heavily in developing and maintaining the current water infrastructure, as the current level of wastage of water resources is costly. For example, estimates of current losses through water supply network leakage are as high as 50%.[4] The maintenance of storage dams, rehabilitation of wastewater treatment and reuse systems and water distribution systems and increase of urban water supply are the main priorities at the moment.[5]

In addition, for Jordan to meet its growing needs it must expand its water supplies by exploiting new resources (see ‘Current and Planned Infrastructural Projects’). Making better use of the limited water supply by using existing supplies more efficiently is crucial. This includes a focus on preserving water, reducing system leakages and increasing wastewater usage.[6]

Water tanker delivering water to residential area, Jordan. Photo: High contrast.
Water tanker delivering water to residential area, Jordan. Photo: High contrast.


[1] Wadis are streambeds or gullies that are dry except in the rainy season.
[2] EDM Global, 2015. Every drop matters. See www.everydropmatters.com/global-edm/jordan/ for project overview.
[3] Ghneim, A., 2011. Wastewater Reuse and Management in the Middle East and North Africa: A Case Study of Jordan. MSc Dissertation. Published by Universitätsverlag der TU Berlin.
[4] al-Ansari, N. et al., 2014. ‘Water Supply Network Losses in Jordan’. Journal of Water Resource and Protection, 6, 83-96.
[5] Mohsen, M.S., 2007. ‘Water strategies and potential of desalination in Jordan’. Desalination, 203: 27-46.
[6] Ibid.