الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن / التحديات

التحديات

View of Amman. Photo: Tariq Ibrahim AbdulHadi.
منظر لعمان. صور: طارق إبراهيم عبدالهادي.

يكافح الأردن لرأب الفجوة المتنامية بين العرض والطلب على المياه منذ عدة عقودٍ الآن. وقد تمت سابقاً مناقشة مختلف جوانب إدارة العرض (القسم البُنية التحتية للمياه و إدارة المياه). إن تحديات إدارة الطلب كبيرة بما فيه الكفاية حيث سيتم التطرق إليها في القسم الحد من استهلاك المياه. وإلى جانب هذا، هناك عدد من المعوقات الأخرى لإدارة المياه بفعالية في الأردن. وفي حين أن مناقشة شاملة لهذه التحديات يتجاوز نطاق هذا التقرير، نوجز تالياً عدداً من القضايا:

هدر المياه في قطاع البلديات

يشّكل تسرب المياه، وهدرها، وسرقتها مشكلة كبيرة في الأردن. يتم هدر ما يقارب 40% إلى 80% من إمدادات المياه في الشبكة، حسب موقعها. وتعتبر العمليات الإدارية غير الفعّالة، والبُنية التحتية البالية، والصيانة غير الملائمة، الأسباب الرئيسية لهذا الهدر الكبير. وتشمل القضايا الإدارية استخدام المياه دون دفع الفواتير، والاستخراج غير المشروع من أنظمة المياه ومشاكل القراءات (مثل أخطاء قراءة العدادات/ عدم الدقة، وأعطال المعدات، ووصلات المياه غير المقاسة). في بعض المناطق، تلعب أيضاً عدم الصيانة أو سوء نوعية المواد المستخدمة للصيانة، والعقوبات المحدودة لاستخدام المياه بطريقة غير مشروعة (عدم وجود أو إنفاذ قانون فعّال، وعدم وجود غرامات أو غرامات بسيطة جداً)، وعدم وجود وعي عام/ أو مسؤولية شخصية عن هدر المياه، دوراً في هذه القضية.

ومع ذلك، تشّكل أيضاً جغرافية البلاد تحدياً لإمدادات المياه. تقع الموارد الرئيسية للمياه في الأردن (الأنهر والأحواض الجوفية الرئيسية) بشكلٍ عام على مسافة بعيدة عن المدن والمناطق الزراعية، مما يعني أنه يتوجب نقل المياه بين المصدر والمستهلك، والذي يُغطي في بعض الأحيان اختلافاً كبيراً في الارتفاع. يعيش ما يقارب 80% من السكان في المدن في الجزء الشمالي من البلاد، على ارتفاعات أعلى بكثير من مصادر المياه السطحية الرئيسية. ونتيجة لذلك، اضطرت الحكومة الأردنية إلى الاستثمار في شبكة مياه واسعة ومكلفة، والتي تحتاج إلى صيانة وتجديد مستمر. كما أن متطلبات الطاقة وتكلفة نقل المياه كبيرة أيضاً[1].

تغير المناخ

يتوقع الخبراء أن التغير المناخي سيؤدي إلى ارتفاع درجات الحرارة في الصيف في منطقة حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط ما بين 2,2 إلى 2,5 درجة مئوية، والذي سيرافقة انخفاض بالهطول المطري السنوي ما بين 4% إلى 27%، الأمر الذي سيزيد من خطر الجفاف. كما ستؤدي زيادة التبخر وانخفاض رطوبة التربة إلى التقليل من إعادة  تغذية المياه السطحية والجوفية[2]. وهذا بدوره سيؤدي إلى زيادة الحاجة لري المحاصيل. ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى زيادة عدد الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة مثل الأمطار والعواصف الثلجية، التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى حدوث الفيضانات. كما سيتسبب أيضاً في المزيد من التقلبات في درجات الحرارة القصوى السنوية.

ستتأثر إمدادات المياه في الأردن بشكلٍ كبير بسبب هذه العوامل. وتشتمل الآثار الإضافية على زيادة خطر انجراف التربة، والفيضانات، وترسب الطمي في الأنهار والسدود والخزانات، وارتفاع الملوحة، وقابلية التغير السنوي لإمدادات المياه، وانخفاض تدفقات الأنهار الرئيسية مثل نهر الأردن (ربما تصل إلى 80%). وسيكون لجميع هذه المخاطر تأثيرات على الاقتصاد، والصحة، والأمن المائي والغذائي[3].

التحديات المالية

إن قدرات الأردن المالية الداخلية محدودة لتنفيذ مشاريع كبرى، وبالتالي، يتوجب اتخاذ خيارات صعبة وينبغي استهداف المشاريع الهامة التي تمتاز بالتكلفة المنخفضة/ والفوائد المرتفعة.

يمكن أن تساعد زيادة التعريفات والضرائب في تمويل صيانة البُنية التحتية الحالية لشبكة المياه وتطوير مشاريع جديدة. ولكن، يعتبر هذا الخيار حساساً من ناحية سياسية، وربما لن تكون الزيادة الكبيرة في الأسعار مُجدية.

يعتمد الأردن إلى حدٍ كبير على مصادر التمويل الخارجية (على سبيل المثال، المؤسسات الأجنبية الخاصة، والمساعدات الأجنبية، والحكومات الأجنبية). ومع ذلك، قد لا تكون بالضرورة أولوليات الممولين الأجانب تتماشى مع أهداف الحكومة.


[1] Grover, V. et al., 2010. Integrated Water Resources Management in Jordan.
[2] Christensen, J.H. et al., 2007. ‘Regional Climate Projections’. In: Climate Change 2007: The Physical Science Basis, Contribution of Working Group I to the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
[3] Tolba, M. and Saab, N., 2009. Impact of Climate Change on Arab Countries – IPCC. Arab Forum For Environment And Development.

Home / Jordan / Challenges

Challenges

View of Amman. Photo: Tariq Ibrahim AbdulHadi.
View of Amman. Photo: Tariq Ibrahim AbdulHadi.

Jordan has been struggling to bridge the growing gap between water supply and demand for several decades now. Different aspects of supply management have been discussed previously (Water Infrastructure and Management). Demand management challenges are significant enough that they will be addressed on their own in ‘Reducing Water Use’. Besides this, there are a number of other obstacles to effective water management in Jordan. While a comprehensive discussion of these challenges goes beyond the scope of this report, a number of issues are summarized below:Water losses in the municipal sector

Leakage, water loss and water theft form a huge problem in Jordan. An estimated 40% to 80% of the water supply is lost in the network, depending on the location. Inefficient administrative processes, outdated infrastructure and inadequate maintenance are the main culprits of this huge waste. Administrative issues include unbilled water use, illegal extractions from the system and metering issues (e.g. reading errors/inaccuracies, equipment failures, connections not metered). In some areas, lack of maintenance or poor quality of repair materials, limited penalties for illegal water use (no or ineffective law enforcement, no or very small fines) and a lack of public awareness and/or personal responsibility for water wastage also play a role.

However, the country’s geography also forms a challenge to water supply. Jordan’s key water resources (main rivers and aquifers) are generally situated at a considerable distance from the cities and agricultural areas, meaning that water needs to be transported between the source and the consumer, sometimes covering a great difference in altitude. Almost 80% of the population lives in cities in the northern part of the country, at elevations significantly higher than the main surface water sources. As a result, the Jordanian government has had to invest in an extensive and expensive water network, which needs to be constantly maintained and upgraded. The energy requirement and cost of transporting the water is also substantial.[1]

Climate change

Experts predict that climate change will result in summer temperatures in the Mediterranean region rising between 2.2 and 2.5°C, accompanied by a 4% to 27% decrease in annual precipitation, which will increase the risk of droughts. Increased evaporation and reduction in soil moisture will reduce surface and groundwater recharge.[2] This will in turn lead to increased need for crop irrigation. Climate change is also expected to increase the number of extreme weather events such as rain and snowstorms, which can result in flooding. It will also cause greater variability in annual temperature extremes.

Jordan’s water supply will be significantly affected by these factors. Additional effects include increased risks of soil erosion, flooding, siltation of rivers, dams and reservoirs; increased salinity and year-on-year variability of water supplies; and reduced flows of major rivers such as the Jordan River (perhaps up to 80%). All of these risks will have economic, health, and water and food security impacts.[3]

Financial challenges

Jordan has limited internal financial capacity to implement major projects. Hard choices need to be made and critical projects with low cost/benefit ratios should be targeted.

Increasing tariffs and taxes could help finance the maintenance of existing water infrastructure and the development of new projects. However, this is politically sensitive and substantial rate increases would probably not be feasible.

Jordan is largely dependent on external funding sources (e.g. foreign private enterprise, NGOs, foreign aid, foreign governments). However, foreign funders’ priorities are not necessarily in line with the government’s goals.


[1] Grover, V. et al., 2010. Integrated Water Resources Management in Jordan.
[2] Christensen, J.H. et al., 2007. ‘Regional Climate Projections’. In: Climate Change 2007: The Physical Science Basis, Contribution of Working Group I to the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
[3] Tolba, M. and Saab, N., 2009. Impact of Climate Change on Arab Countries – IPCC. Arab Forum For Environment And Development.