الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / استهلاك المياه

استهلاك المياه

قُدر إجمالي استهلاك المياه في اسرائيل عام 2013 بحوالي 2,187 مليون متر مكعب. ويمثل هذا استهلاك المياه في القطاعات الزراعية والمنزلية والصناعية، والمياه التي تزودها اسرائيل لكل من الأردن وفلسطين كجزء من اتفاقيات ثنائية، والمياه التي يتم إرجاعها إلى الطبيعة مثل المياه التي تتم إعادتها إلى الجداول لأغراض بيئية. ومن المتوقع أن يزداد إجمالي الإستهلاك إلى 2,672 مليون متر مكعب بحلول عام 2020، وإلى 3,571 مليون متر مكعب بحلول 2050 (الشكل 3). ومع ذلك، فمن المتوقع أن ينخفض التوافر الطبيعي بنسبة 10-15% بحلول عام 2050 نتيجة لتغير المناخ[1].

تخطط الحكومة لمواصلة تطوير الموارد المائية البديلة (تحلية المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي) وتعزيز تقنيات ترشيد المياه لتلبية الطلب المتزايد والحفاظ على الأمن المائي.

استهلاك المياه حسب القطاع

بلغ استهلاك المياه التصاعدي عام 2013 حوالي 2,187 مليون متر مكعب[2]، أي ما يتجاوز إمدادات المياه الطبيعية بنحو 45%.[3] يتم تعويض هذا العجز، بشكلٍ متزايد، بمصادر المياه البديلة.

يعتبر القطاع الزراعي أكبر مستهلك للمياه (حوالي 58%)، حيث تم استهلاك حوالي 1,205 مليون من المياه عام 2013. ومع ذلك، فإن غالبية هذه المياه متوسطة الملوحة أو مُعاد تدويرها (744 مليون متر مكعب)، في حين أن ما يقارب 460 مليون متر مكعب من المياه العذبة. ويمثل استهلاك المياه للأغراض المنزلية، والتي تشمل مياه الاستحمام، والطهي، والتنظيف، والاستخدامات الترفيهية، حوالي 35% (733 مليون متر مكعب) من استهلاك المياه. أما استهلاك المياه للأغراض الصناعية، قٌدّر بحوالي 70% عام 2013 (138 مليون متر مكعب) (الشكل 4).

وإلى جانب توفير المياه لقطاعات استهلاك المياه الرئيسية الثلاث، زودت اسرائيل الأردن في عام 2013 بحوالي 53 مليون متر مكعب، وفلسطين بـ54 مليون متر مكعب للضفة الغربية، و4 مليون متر مكعب لقطاع غزة كجزء مناتفاقيات ثنائية لتقاسم المياه بين البلدين. كما تمت إعادة حوالي 23,5 مليون متر مكعب إلى الطبيعة[4].

Figure 5. Water use in Israel by source type (1960-2050). Source: Fanack after Rejwan, 2011.

الشكل (3) استهلاك المياه في إسرائيل حسب نوع المصدر (1960-2050). المصدر: فاناك عن Rejwan, 2011.

 

Figure 6. Water use in Israel by sector for 2013. Source: Fanack based on Israel Water Authority.
الشكل (4) استهلاك المياه في اسرائيل حسب القطاع لعام 2013. المصدر فاناك عن سلطة المياه الاسرائيلية.

استخدام المياه في الزراعة وتطويرها

يتزايد الإنتاج الزراعي في اسرائيل منذ عام 1948، ومع ذلك، لا يمثل اليوم سوى 2,4% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي و4% من الصادرات. ويمثل هذا انخفاضاً كبيراً منذ عام 1960، عندما كانت تُقدر الصادرات بنحو 30%.[5] ومع ذلك، لا تزال التنمية الزراعية أولوية، وذلك في الدرجة الأولى لأسبابٍ أيديولوجية ومصالح المحافظة على الزراعة. في عام 2011، كان مجموع الأراضي المزروعة 283,000 هكتار، منها 165,000 هكتار خاضعة للري[6].

وبسبب محدودية المياه والأراضي الصالحة للزراعة، قامت اسرائيل بتنمية أساليب وتقنيات زراعية مبتكرة. فعلى سبيل المثال، زاد الاعتماد واسع النطاق على أنظمة التنقيط قليلة الحجم، من كفاءة الري من 64% إلى 90%.  وعلاوة على ذلك، ومن خلال الجمع بين استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة والري بالتنقيط، زاد الإنتاج الزراعي اثني عشر ضعفاً دون زيادة استهلاك المياه[7].

Algoculture at Kibbutz Ketura in the Negev Desert. Photo: Remi Jouan.
الزراعة واستزراع الأعشاب البحرية في كيبوتس كيتورا في صحراء النقب. صور: ريمي جوعان.
Data cultivation in Israel. Photo: Thomas Schmidt.
زراعة البيانات في إسرائيل. الصورة: توماس شميت.


[1] Israel Water Authority, 2012. Long-Term Master Plan for the National Water Sector Part A – Policy Document Version 4.
[2] Israeli Water Authority, 2015. Israel Water Sector: IWRM Model.
[3] Tenne, A., 2010. Sea Water Desalination in Israel: Planning, Coping with Difficulties, and Economic Aspects of Long-Term Risks.
[4] Israeli Water Authority.
[5] Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2002. Focus on Israel: Israel’s Agriculture in the 21st Century.
[6] Israeli Ministry of Agriculture.
[7] Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2002. Focus on Israel: Israel’s Agriculture in the 21st Century.

Home / Israel / Water Use

Water Use

Total water use in Israel in 2013 was estimated at about 2,187 MCM. This represents water use in the agricultural, domestic and industrial sectors, water that Israel provides to Jordan and Palestine as part of bilateral agreements and water that is returned to nature, i.e. released back into streams for ecological purposes. Total water use is expected to increase to 2,672 MCM by 2020 and 3,571 MCM by 2050 (Fig. 5). However, natural availability is expected to drop by 10-15% by 2050 as a result of climate change.[1]

The government plans to continue developing alternative water resources (desalination and wastewater reuse) and promote water-saving techniques to meet rising demand and maintain water security.

Water use per sector

Cumulative water use in 2013 was around 2,187 MCM,[2] exceeding natural water supply by about 45%.[3] This deficit is increasingly made up for by alternative water sources.

The agricultural sector is the largest water user (about 58%), consuming around 1,205 MCM of water in 2013. However, most of this water is brackish or recycled (744 MCM) and around 460 MCM is fresh water. Domestic water use, which includes water for showering, cooking, cleaning and recreational use, accounts for around 35% (733 MCM) of water use. Industrial water use was estimated at around 7% in 2013 (138 MCM) (Fig. 6).

Besides supplying water to the three main water use sectors, in 2013 Israel supplied Jordan with around 53 MCM and Palestine with 54 MCM in the West Bank and 4 MCM in the Gaza Strip as part of bilateral water-sharing agreements. Around 23.5 MCM was returned to nature.[4]

Figure 5. Water use in Israel by source type (1960-2050). Source: Fanack after Rejwan, 2011.
Figure 5. Water use in Israel by source type (1960-2050). Source: Fanack after Rejwan, 2011.
Figure 6. Water use in Israel by sector for 2013. Source: Fanack based on Israel Water Authority.
Figure 6. Water use in Israel by sector for 2013. Source: Fanack based on Israel Water Authority.

Agricultural water use and development

Israel’s agricultural output has been growing since 1948; however, today it only represents 2.4% of the GDP and 4% of exports. This is a significant reduction from 1960, when exports were estimated at around 30%.[5] Nonetheless, agricultural development remains a priority, mainly for ideological reasons and land conservation interests. In 2011, total cultivated land was 283,000 hectares, of which 165,000 hectares was under irrigation.[6]

As it has a limited water and arable land, Israel has developed innovative agricultural methods and technologies. The large-scale adoption of low-volume drip irrigation systems, for example, has increased irrigation efficiency from 64% to 90%. Moreover, by combining the use of treated wastewater and drip irrigation, agricultural output has increased twelve-fold without increasing water consumption.[7]

Algoculture at Kibbutz Ketura in the Negev Desert. Photo: Remi Jouan.
Algoculture at Kibbutz Ketura in the Negev Desert. Photo: Remi Jouan.
Data cultivation in Israel. Photo: Thomas Schmidt.
Data cultivation in Israel. Photo: Thomas Schmidt.


[1] Israel Water Authority, 2012. Long-Term Master Plan for the National Water Sector Part A – Policy Document Version 4.
[2] Israeli Water Authority, 2015. Israel Water Sector: IWRM Model.
[3] Tenne, A., 2010. Sea Water Desalination in Israel: Planning, Coping with Difficulties, and Economic Aspects of Long-Term Risks.
[4] Israeli Water Authority.
[5] Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2002. Focus on Israel: Israel’s Agriculture in the 21st Century.
[6] Israeli Ministry of Agriculture.
[7] Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2002. Focus on Israel: Israel’s Agriculture in the 21st Century.