الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / الموارد المائية / المياه السطحية

المياه السطحية

Lake Kinneret. Photo: Amir Aharoni.الأنهار الرئيسية دائمة الجريان طوال السنة في اسرائيل هي: نهر الأردن وكيشون واليركون واليرموك. أما ما تبقى من موارد المياه السطحية، والمعروفة باسم الأودية، فهي موسمية. وتعدّ بحيرة طبريا البحيرة الوحيدة في اسرائيل.

بحيرة طبريا

تعتبر بحيرة طبريا التي تقع على ارتفاع 213 متر تحت سطح البحر، أخفض بحيرة للمياه العذبة في العالم وأحد أهم موارد المياه العذبة في اسرائيل، حيث توفر ما يقارب 25% من المياه العذبة في البلاد. تغطي مستجمعات مياه بحيرة طبريا ما مساحته 2,730 كيلومتر مربع. يأتي مصدر المياه الرئيسي لحوض بحيرة طبريا من مستجمعات مياه نهر الأردن العلوي البالغ مساحته حوالي 1,700 كيلومتر مربع، والتي تشتمل على 920 كيلومتر مربع في اسرائيل، وحوالي 780 كيلومتر مربع في سوريا ولبنان[1]. المصادر الرئيسية لمياه بحيرة طبريا تأتي من الأمطار وتساقط الثلوج في الجليل الأعلى ومرتفعات الجولان، والتي تتدفق بشكل رئيسي إلى البحيرة عبر نهر الأردن العلوي. كما تصب عدد من الينابيع والجداول الصغيرة أيضاً في البحيرة.

بالمتوسط، وخلال الفترة ما بين 1980- 2010، بلغ توافر المياه في بحيرة طبريا حوالي 385 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه الكمية تتناقص باطراد نتيجة لانخفاض مستويات هطول الأمطار وارتفاع مستويات الاستهلاك عند المنبع. ومن المتوقع أن ينخفض توافر المياه في البحيرة إلى حوالي 340 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة للفترة ما بين 2010- 2030[2].

يتم تحويل حوالي 200 مليون متر مكعب من المياه سنوياً من البحيرة إلى النظام الناقل للمياه في اسرائيل، وهي شبكة المياه المركزية الاسرائيلية التي تنقل المياه من بحيرة طبريا إلى وسط وجنوب البلاد للاستخدام المنزلي والزراعي[3]. كما يتم توفير 100 مليون متر مكعب إضافية من المياه في السنة للمستهلكين في المناطق المحيطة بالبحيرة، في حين يتم توفير 55 مليون متر مكعب من المياه في السنة إلى الأردن كجزء من معاهدة السلام لعام 1994.

مفوضية المياه الاسرائيلية مسؤولة عن رصد مستويات المياه في البحيرة ونوعية المياه[4]. يُنظم مستوى المياه في بحيرة طبريا وفقاً لخطوط حمراء “عُليا” و”دُنيا.” ويتم تحديد هذه الخطوط الحمراء وفقاً لنوعية مياه البحيرة لاستهلاك المياه الصالحة للشرب. يمثل الخط الأحمر العلوي المستوى المثالي للبحيرة وفقاً للمعايير الإسرائيلية للمياه الصالحة للشرب، بينما يمثل الخط الأحمر السفلي مستوى الحد الأدنى للبحيرة لجودة المياه الصالحة للشرب، والذي في حال انخفض دون المستوى يبرز خطر زيادة الملوحة وتكاثر الطحالب. في الأصل، حُدد الخط الأحمر السُفلي على ارتفاع -212 متر، إلا أنه خُفضّ إلى -213 متر عام 1986 و-214 متر عام 2000.[5]

The Jordan River. Photo: Petr Broz.
نهر الأردن. الصورة: بيتر بروز.

نهر الأردن

يستمد نهر الأردن مياهه من ثلاثة روافد رئيسية هي: نهر بانياس في مرتفعات الجولان السوري المحتل من قِبل اسرائيل، ونهر دان في اسرائيل، ونهر الحاصباني في لبنان. يبلغ إجمالي طول النهر 223 كلم، حيث يتدفق النهر جنوباً إلى بحيرة طبريا ويصب في البحر الميت. ينقسم نهر الأردن إلى نهر الأردن العلوي (من التقاء نهر بانياس ودان والحاصباني إلى بحيرة طبريا) ونهر الأردن السفلي (من بحيرة طبريا إلى البحر الميت).

يقع حوض نهر الأردن بين اسرائيل والأردن ولبنان وفلسطين وسوريا. ومع ذلك، لا تتم مشاركة مياه الحوض بشكل عادل في المنطقة، حيث تستخرج اسرائيل 580-640 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، بينما تستخرج الأردن حوالي 290 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، وسوريا حوالي 450 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، ولبنان 9-10 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة[6]. في حين لا تستطيع فلسطين الوصول إلى النهر أو أي من موارده المائية منذ عام 1967.

وقد تسبب بناء السدود ومشاريع تحويل المياه على حوض نهر الأردن على مدى السنوات الستين الماضية في انخفاض شديد في تدفق نهر الأردن السفلي، الذي انخفض من تدفقه التاريخي البالغ 1320 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة إلى حوالي 50 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة اليوم. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المياه ملوثة للغاية ومالحة. وكان لتراجع تدفق مياه نهر الأردن السفلي نتائج مباشرة على منسوب مياه البحر الميت الذي فقد حوالي 30% من مساحة سطحة على مدى السنوات الـ20 الماضية[7].

نهر كيشون

يعتبر نهر كيشون البالغ طوله 70 كيلومتر في شمال اسرائيل، مصدر المياه السطحي الوحيد الذي لا تتم مشاركته مع دولة أخرى. يتم تغذية النهر من الجداول الصغيرة والأودية في جبال جلبوع وتلال الناصرة في الجليل السفلي. تلتقي منابع النهر معاً في سهل إزدرايلون حيث يوجد سد يبلغ طوله ثلاثة أميال[8]. يعتبر حوض نهر كيشون ثاني أكبر حوض نهر ساحلي في اسرائيل وتبلغ مساحته حوالي 1.110 كليومتر مربع. الكيلومترات السبع الأخيرة من النهر ملوثة بشكل كبير، حيث تصب فيه مياه الصرف الصحي بسبب التدفق الطبيعي، في خليج حيفا. وقد تم تدمير النظام البيئي الطبيعي على طول هذا الجزء من النهر[9].

نهر اليركون

يتشكل نهر اليركون، الذي يقع في الغرب الأوسط من اسرائيل، من الينابيع بالقرب من روش هاعين. يتدفق اليركون غرباً لـ26 كيلومتر تقريباً إلى شمال تل أبيب- يافا حيث يصب في البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وتمتد جزء من مستجمعات مياه النهر شرقاً إلى الضفة الغربية. يتدهور مستوى ونوعية المياه منذ عام 1955، بعد بناء مشروع اليركون- النقب، المشروع السابق للناقل الوطني للمياه وجزء من الخطة الوطنية للمياه[10].

نهر اليرموك

ينبع نهر اليرموك، الرافد الرئيسي لنهر الأردن، من سوريا ويصب في نهر الأردن السفلي. يُغطي حوض نهر اليرموك مساحة تُقدر بحوالي 7,000 كيلومتر مربع، وتتشاركه كل من اسرائيل والأردن وسوريا. انخفض التدفق السنوي للنهر بشكلٍ حاد على مدى السنوات الخمسين الماضية من حوالي 450-500 مليون متر مكعب إلى 40 مليون متر مكعب نتيجة لبناء السدود الممتدة في سوريا، وضخ المياه الجوفية في الأجزاء العلوية من الحوض في اسرائيل والأردن وسوريا. كما يحوّل الأردن حوالي 100 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة عبر قناة الملك عبدالله لأغراض الري في منطقة وادي نهر الأردن الشرقية[11].

Yarkon River. Photo: Ilana Shkolnik.
نهر اليركون. صور: إيلانا شكولنيك.
The Kishon River. Photo: Hanay.
نهر كيشون. صور: Hanay.


[1] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Mekorot, The Water Level of Lake Kinneret.
[4] Markel, D. and Shamir, U., 2002. ‘Monitoring Lake Kinneret and Its Watershed: Forming the Basis for Management of a Water Supply Lake’, Water Resources Quality, 2002, 177–90.
[5] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[6] bid.
[7] UN-ESCWA & BGR, 2013. ‘The Jordan River Basin’. In: Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[8] Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2015. Qishon River.
[9] Israel Ministry of Environment and Protection, 2014. Kishon River Authority.
[10] Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2015. Yarqon River.

Home / Israel / Water Resources / Surface Water

Surface Water

Lake Kinneret. Photo: Amir Aharoni.The major rivers in Israel with a year-round flow are the Jordan, Kishon, Yarkon and Yarmouk Rivers. The remaining surface water resources, known as wadis, are seasonal. Lake Kinneret is the only lake in Israel.

Lake Kinneret

Situated at an altitude of 213 metres below sea level, Lake Kinneret is the world’s lowest freshwater lake and one of Israel’s most important freshwater resources, supplying approximately 25% of the country’s fresh water. The watershed of Lake Kinneret covers 2,730 km2. The Kinneret Basin has its main water source in the approximately 1,700 km2 upper catchment of the Jordan River, which includes about 920 km2 in Israel and about 780 km2 in Syria and Lebanon.[1] The main source of water to Lake Kinneret is rain- and snowfall from the Upper Galilee and the Golan Heights, which mainly flows into the lake through the Upper Jordan River. A number of springs and small streams also discharge into the lake.

On average, for the period 1980-2010, Lake Kinneret has had a water availability of around 385 MCM/yr. This amount is, however, steadily decreasing as a result of lower precipitation levels and rising levels of consumption upstream. Water availability in the lake is predicted to decrease to around 340 MCM/yr for the period 2010-2030.[2]

Around 200 million cubic metres (MCM) of water is diverted annually from the lake to the National Water Carrier, Israel’s centralized water grid that transfers water from Lake Kinneret to the centre and south of the country for domestic and agricultural use.[3] An additional 100 MCM/yr of water is supplied to consumers around the lake and 55 MCM/yr is supplied to Jordan as part of the 1994 peace treaty.

Israel’s Water Commissioner is responsible for monitoring the lake’s water levels and the quality of the water.[4] The level of Lake Kinneret is regulated according to ‘upper’ and ‘lower’ red lines. These red lines are determined according to water quality of the lake for potable water consumption. The upper red line represents the lake’s ideal level according to Israel’s potable water standards, while the lower red line represents the lake’s minimum level for potable water quality below which there would be a risk of increases in salinity and algal blooms. The lower red line was originally set at -212 m but was lowered to -213 m in 1986 and -214 m in 2000.[5]

The Jordan River. Photo: Petr Broz.
The Jordan River. Photo: Petr Broz.

Jordan River

The Jordan River originates from three main springs: the Banias in the Israeli-occupied Syrian Golan Heights, the Dan in Israel and the Hasbani in Lebanon. With a total length of 223 km, the river flows south to Lake Kinneret and discharges in the Dead Sea. The river is divided into the Upper Jordan River (from the confluence of the Banias, Dan and Hasbani to Lake Kinneret) and the Lower Jordan River (from Lake Kinneret to the Dead Sea).

The Jordan River Basin is shared between Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Syria. However, the water in the basin is not shared equitably in the region, with Israel extracting 580-640 MCM/yr whereas Jordan extracts around 290 MCM/yr, Syria around 450 MCM/yr and Lebanon 9-10 MCM/yr.[6] Palestine has not had access to the river or its water resources since 1967.

The construction of dams and diversion projects in the Jordan River Basin over the last 60 years has caused a severe decline in the flow of the Lower Jordan River, which has dropped from a historical 1,320 MCM/yr to around 50 MCM/yr today. This water is highly polluted and saline. The decline of the Lower Jordan River has had direct consequences for the level of the Dead Sea, which has lost about 30% of its surface area over the last 20 years.[7]

Kishon River

The 70 km-long Kishon River in northern Israel is the only surface water resource that is not shared. The river is fed from small streams and wadis in the Mountains of Gilboa and the Nazareth Hills of Lower Galilee. The headwaters of the river come together in the western plain of the Esdraelon where there is a three-mile-long dam.[8] The Kishon River Basin is Israel’s second largest coastal river basin with an area of around 1,110 km2. The last seven kilometres of the river are heavily polluted, with free-flowing wastewater draining into Haifa Bay. The natural ecosystem along this part of the river has been destroyed.[9]

Yarkon River

Located in central-west Israel, the Yarkon River originates at springs near Rosh Ha-‘Ayin. The Yarkon flows west for approximately 26 km to northern Tel Aviv-Yafo where it discharges into the Mediterranean Sea. Part of the river’s watershed extends eastward into the West Bank. The river’s water level and quality have been deteriorating since 1955, following the construction of the Yarkon-Negev Project, the precursor of the National Water Carrier and part of the National Water Plan.[10]

Yarmouk River

The Yarmouk River, the main tributary of the Jordan River, originates in Syria and discharges in the Lower Jordan River. The Yarmouk River Basin covers an area of nearly 7,000 km2 and is shared between Israel, Jordan and Syria. The river’s annual flow has dropped sharply over the last 50 years from around 450-500 MCM to 40 MCM as a result of extensive dam construction on the river in Syria and groundwater pumping in the upper parts of the basin in Israel, Jordan and Syria. Jordan also diverts around 100 MCM/yr through the King Abdullah Canal for irrigation in the eastern Jordan River Valley.

Yarkon River. Photo: Ilana Shkolnik.
Yarkon River. Photo: Ilana Shkolnik.
The Kishon River. Photo: Hanay.
The Kishon River. Photo: Hanay.


[1] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Mekorot, The Water Level of Lake Kinneret.
[4] Markel, D. and Shamir, U., 2002. ‘Monitoring Lake Kinneret and Its Watershed: Forming the Basis for Management of a Water Supply Lake’, Water Resources Quality, 2002, 177–90.
[5] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[6] bid.
[7] UN-ESCWA & BGR, 2013. ‘The Jordan River Basin’. In: Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia.
[8] Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2015. Qishon River.
[9] Israel Ministry of Environment and Protection, 2014. Kishon River Authority.
[10] Encyclopædia Britannica Online, 2015. Yarqon River.