الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / الموارد المائية / المياه الجوفية

المياه الجوفية

[fusion_code]W3RpdGxlIHNpemU9IjIiXdin2YTZhdmK2KfZhyDYp9mE2KzZiNmB2YrYqVsvdGl0bGVd[/fusion_code]The Yarmouk River. Photo: Freedom’s Falcon.

مصادر المياه الجوفية الرئيسية في اسرائيل هما الحوض الجوفي الساحلي والحوض الجوفي الجبلي. كما تعتبر هذه الأحواض الجوفية مصادر المياه الرئيسية للفلسطينيين في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية على التوالي. كما أنّ هناك عدد من الأحواض الجوفية الصغيرة في صحراء النقب ووادي عربة[1].

الحوض الجوفي الساحلي

يمتد الحوض الساحلي من سلسلة جبال الكرمل في الشمال إلى شبه جزيرة سيناء في الجنوب، ومن الضفة الغربية في الشرق إلى البحر المتوسط في الغرب. ولا تُسيطر اسرائيل على الجزء الواقع أقصى الجنوب من الحوض الجوفي في سيناء وقطاع غزة. ويُعتبر هذا الحوض الجوفي ذو أهمية خاصة لأنه يستطيع تحزين كميات كبيرة من المياه لفترة عدة سنوات[2].

ويُقدر العائد المستدام للحوض الساحلي بـ360-420 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، منها 15% (55 مليون متر مكعب) العائد المستدام في قطاع غزة. ومع ذلك، تتجاوز معدلات الاستخراج الحالية العائد المستدام بكثير[3].

إنّ العمق الضحل والقاعدة الرملية / الحجر الرملي اللين نسبياً للحوض الساحلي، يجعل الوصول إلى المياه أمراً سهلاً إلا أنه يجعل أيضاً طبقة المياه الجوفية عرضة للتلوث. وتتدهور نوعية المياه في الحوض الساحلي باطراد بسبب التلوث والضخ الجائر[4].

الحوض الجوفي الجبلي

يعتبر الحوض الجبلي مصدر المياه المشترك بين إسرائيل والضفة الغربية الفلسطينية. يبلغ طوله 130 كيلومتر وعرضه حوالي 35 كيلومتر بمساحة إجمالية قدرها 6,000 كيلومتر مربع. ويتم تغذية الحوض الجوفي في المقام الأول عن طريق مياه الأمطار التي تهطل على الضفة الغربية.

يُعتبر حوض المياه الجوفية هذا مورداً غاية في الأهمية لكل من اسرائيل وفلسطين على حد سواء. يوفر الحوض لإسرائيل حوالي 25% من إجمالي الميزانية المائية ويعتبر مصدر المياه الرئيسي بالنسبة لسكان الضفة الغربية. ويمكن تقسيم الحوض الجوفي الجبلي إلى أحواض شرقية وشمالية وغربية وفقاً لاتجاه تدفق مياه الأمطار نحو الحوض. ويبلغ العائد المستدام للحوض حوالي 350 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة. ومع ذلك، يتم استخراج ما بين 679-735 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً في المتوسط، منها 80% من قِبل اسرائيل. وإلى جانب انخفاض إعادة تغذية الحوض بسبب انخفاض مستويات هطول الأمطار، أدى الاستغلال المفرط من قِبل إسرائيل للحوض إلى استنزافه وتدهور كمية المياه المتوفرة.

الأحواض الجوفية في النقب ووادي عربة

يقع اثنين من الأحواض الجوفية متوسطة الملوحة بشكلٍ طبيعي (المالحة) في جنوب البلاد. وتُقدر القدرة التخزينية المجتمعة لحوضي النقب ووادي عربة بمئات المليارات من الأمتار المكعبة. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا المورد المائي آخذ في الانحفاض بسرعة بسبب الضخ المفرط[5] من قِبل المجتمعات المحلية في جنوب وادي عربة، حيث تتم معالجة المياه في محطات تحلية صغيرة الحجم.


[1] Beyth, M., 2006. ‘Water crisis in Israel’. In: Leybourne, M. and Gynor, A. eds. Water, Histories, Cultures, Ecologies, University of Western Australia Press, pp. 171–181.
[2] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[3] Isaac, J., 2006. ‘The role of groundwater in the water conflict and resolution between Israelis and Palestinians.’ Paper presented at the International Symposium on Groundwater Sustainability (ISGWAS).
[4] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012.
[5] Ibid.

Home / Israel / Water Resources / GroundWater

Groundwater

The Yarmouk River. Photo: Freedom’s Falcon.

The two primary groundwater resources in Israel are the Coastal and Mountain Aquifers. These aquifers are also the main water resources for Palestinians in Gaza and the West Bank respectively. There are also a number of smaller aquifers in the Negev Desert and Arava Valley.[1]

Coastal Aquifer

The Coastal Aquifer stretches from the Carmel Range in the north to the Sinai Peninsula in the south, and from the West Bank in the east to the Mediterranean Sea in the west. The southernmost part of the aquifer in Sinai and the Gaza Strip are not controlled by Israel. This aquifer is particularly important because it can store large volumes of water for a multi-year period.[2]

The sustainable yield of the Coastal Aquifer is estimated at 360-420 MCM/yr, 15% of which (55 MCM) is the sustainable yield in the Gaza Strip. Current extraction rates, however, far exceed the sustainable yield.[3]

The shallow depth and the relatively soft sandy/sandstone bedrock of the Coastal Aquifer make the water convenient to access but also makes the aquifer susceptible to pollution. Water quality in the Coastal Aquifer has been deteriorating steadily due to pollution and overpumping.[4]

Mountain Aquifer

The Mountain Aquifer is a shared water resource between Israel and the Palestinian West Bank. It is 130 km long and about 35 km wide with a total area of 6,000 km2. The aquifer is fed primarily by rainwater falling in the West Bank.

This aquifer is a very important resource for both Israel and Palestine. It provides Israel with about 25% of its total water budget and is the main water resource for populations in the West Bank. The Mountain Aquifer can be divided into an eastern, northern and western basin based on the direction in which rainwater flows into the aquifer. The sustainable yield of the aquifer is about 350 MCM/yr. However, on average between 679 -735 MCM is extracted annually, 80% by Israel. Together with the reduction in recharge as rainfall levels drop, Israel’s overexploitation of the aquifer has led to the depletion and degradation of available water.

Negev and Arava Aquifers

Two naturally brackish (saline) aquifers are located in the country’s south. The Negev and Arava Aquifers have an estimated combined storage capacity of hundreds of billions of cubic metres. However, this supply is rapidly declining due to excessive pumping[5] by local communities in the southern Arava Valley, where water is treated in small-scale desalination plants.

 


[1] Beyth, M., 2006. ‘Water crisis in Israel’. In: Leybourne, M. and Gynor, A. eds. Water, Histories, Cultures, Ecologies, University of Western Australia Press, pp. 171–181.
[2] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012. The Natural Water Resources Between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River.
[3] Isaac, J., 2006. ‘The role of groundwater in the water conflict and resolution between Israelis and Palestinians.’ Paper presented at the International Symposium on Groundwater Sustainability (ISGWAS).
[4] Weinberger, G. et al., 2012.
[5] Ibid.