الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / نوعية المياه

نوعية المياه

Springs are monitored for water quality. Photo: Sharon Shlomo.
يتم مراقبة الينابيع للحصول على جودة المياه. صور: شارون شلومو.

تراجعت نوعية المياه في اسرائيل خلال العقود الأخيرة بسبب انخفاض معدلات هطول الأمطار، وزيادة عدد السكان، وسوء معالجة المياه السطحية الجارية ومياه الصرف الصحي، والإفراط في استخدام الموارد الطبيعية. كما أنّ الحوض الساحلي ونهر الأردن ملوثان بشكل كبير بالمياه المالحة فضلاً عن الملوثات مثل النترات من مياه الصرف الصحي والمياه السطحية الجارية. وهذا يزيد من التكلفة بالنسبة للمستهلكين لأنّ الماء يحتاج إلى المزيد من المعالجة لتصبح المياه آمنة للشرب. وبما أنه تتم مشاركة جميع موارد المياه، تعتبر معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي غير الصحيحة في الضفة الغربية المساهم الرئيسي في تلوث المياه في اسرائيل. وبسبب القيود العسكرية الاسرائيلية المفروضة على الضفة الغربية، يمتلك الفلسطينيون قدرة محدودة على تحسين معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي والمياه العادمة

يتم ضبط مياه الصرف الصحي في اسرائيل بثلاث طرق:

  1. الوقاية: وتشمل صيانة محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. والقضاء على، أو على الأقل الحد من الملوثات الصناعية من مياه الصرف الصحي والنفايات السائلة. وإنفاذ القوانين والقواعد.
  2. الرقابة: تنطوي على تقييم أوضاع المياه الجوفية وقياس جودة المياه الجوفية. يساعد تطوير شبكة مراقبة متطورة في الكشف عن العلامات المبكرة لتلوث المياه الجوفية.
  3. المعالجة: توفر إرشادات حول كيفية معالجة التلوث.

في عام 2012، كان ما يقرب من 95% من السكان في اسرائيل مرتبطون بشكبة الصرف الصحي. ينتج السكان مجتمعون حوالي 507 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من مياه الصرف الصحي، تتم معالجة 468 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة منها، حيث يتم إعادة استخدام 400 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة لأغراض الري[1].

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

في عام 2014، تم إغلاق 199 بئر مملوكة للدولة بسبب التلوث الناجم عن النترات والكلوريد والبكتيريا وغيرها. معظم الآبار التي تم إغلاقها تقع في منطقة الحوض الساحلي، حيث أنّ المياه في 30% من الآبار كانت ملوثة بالملوثات الصناعية[2]. ويعتبر التلوث والاستخدام المفرط المتواصل للمياه الجوفية في الحوض الساحلي مشكلة بيئية خطيرة. ويمكن لفقدان هذا المورد الرئيسي أن يكون له تأثير كبير على الأمن المائي للبلاد. وقد وضعت سلطة المياه الاسرائيلية خطة رئيسية، تهدف إلى إحياء البيئة وضمان استمرار توافر مياه الشرب ذات الجودة العالية[3].


[1] Israel Water Authority, 2015. Wastewater & Effluents in Israel: Monitoring and Prevention of Water Pollution.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.

Home / Israel / Water Quality

Water Quality

Springs are monitored for water quality. Photo: Sharon Shlomo.
Springs are monitored for water quality. Photo: Sharon Shlomo.

Water quality in Israel has been declining in recent decades due to a decrease in rainfall, increase in population, improper run-off and sewage treatment, and overuse of natural resources. The Coastal Aquifer and the Jordan River are heavily polluted with saline water as well as pollutants such as nitrates from sewage and run-off. This increases the cost for consumers because the water needs additional treatment before it is safe to drink. As all water resources are shared, improper wastewater treatment in the West Bank is a major contributor to water pollution in Israel. Due to Israeli military restrictions imposed in the West Bank, Palestinians have limited ability to improve wastewater treatment.

Sanitation and wastewater treatment

Wastewater in Israel is regulated in three ways:

  1. Prevention: includes maintenance of wastewater treatment plants; eliminating, or at least reducing, industrial contaminants from sewage and effluent; and enforcing laws and rules.
  2. Monitoring: involves assessing groundwater conditions and measuring groundwater quality. A highly developed monitoring network helps detect early signs of groundwater pollution.
  3. Remediation: provides instructions on how to address pollution.

In 2012, approximately 95% of the population in Israel was connected to the sewerage network. The population collectively produces around 507 MCM/yr of sewage, of which 468 MCM/yr is treated and 400 MCM/yr is reused for irrigation.[1]

Environmental and health risks

In 2014, 199 government-owned wells were closed due to pollution by nitrate, chloride and bacteria, among others. Most well closures took place in the area of the Coastal Aquifer, where water in 30% of the wells was affected by industrial pollution.[2] The ongoing pollution and overuse of the Coastal Aquifer is a serious environmental issue.  The loss of this major resource could have a significant effect on the country’s water security. Israel’s Water Authority has developed a master plan, which aims to restore the environment and ensure the continuous availability of high-quality drinking water.[3]


[1] Israel Water Authority, 2015. Wastewater & Effluents in Israel: Monitoring and Prevention of Water Pollution.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.