الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / إدارة المياه

إدارة المياه

The Hadera desalination plant was built as part of a PPP project. Photo: US Embassy Tel Aviv.تعتبر المياه مصلحة عامة في إسرائيل. ويعتبر قانون المياه لعام 1959 أساس سياسات وإدارة المياه في اسرائيل. ووفقاً لهذا القانون، تعود مُلكية جميع المياه للدولة. وهذا يتضمن، مياه الصرف الصحي، والمياه العادمة، ومياه الجريان السطحي التي يمكن استخدامها تجارياً وكذلك المياه الموجودة في الملكيات الخاصة بملّاك الأراضي[1]. ومع ذلك، تعمل الحكومة مع القطاع الخاص لتمويل مشروعات تحلية مياه البحر عن طريق تعيين شركات القطاع الخاص لبناء وتشغيل محطات تحلية المياه وفقاً لمخططات نظام البناء والتشغيل ونقل المُلكية (BOT) (الشكل 5).

المؤسسات

سلطة المياه هي السلطة التنفيذية في الحكومة الاسرائيلية المكلفة باقتصاد المياه في إسرائيل. وهي مسؤولة عن إدارة وتشغيل وتطوير (بما في ذلك حفظ وترميم) الموارد المائية، وتطوير موارد مائية جديدة، والإشراف على مستهلكي المياه والمنتجين (الشكل 5). تعمل سلطة المياه جنباً إلى جنب مع منتدى مجلس سلطة المياه على تنظيم الموارد المائية وتوفير الاحتياجات المائية الطويلة والقصيرة الأجل لدولة إسرائيل[2].

منتدى مجلس سلطة المياه المسؤول عن الترخيص المناسب لجميع عمليات صنع القرار ووضع السياسات التي تُقرها سلطة المياه الإسرائيلية والوزارات المرتبطة بها. ويتكون المجلس من ثمانية ممثلين: خمسة من وزارات البنية التحتية وحماية البيئة والمالية والداخلية والصحة، وواحد من سلطة المياه، فضلاً عن اثنين من ممثلي جماعات المصالح العامة.

شركة ميكوروت هي الشركة المملوكة للحكومة والمسؤولة عن الناقل الوطني للمياه (NWC). تأسست الشركة عام 1937 وبدأ تشغيل الناقل الوطني للمياه عام 1950 تحت إشراف وزارة الطاقة والموارد المائية. توفر شركة ميكوروت حوالي 80% من مياه الشرب في اسرائيل وتلبي 70% من إجمالي الطلب السنوي على المياه في اسرائيل[3]. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تمتلك شركة ميكوروت 34 من محطات تحلية المياه، والتي توفر ما يقرب من 40 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه المعالجة المالحة[4]. كما تعالج ميكوروت حوالي 35% من مياه الصرف الصحي في إسرائيل[5].

Figure 5. Overview of the Israeli water sector showing the relation between regulator, consumers and suppliers. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division, 2014.

الشكل (5) لمحة عامة عن قطاع المياه الاسرائيلي يُظهر العلاقة بين المنظم والمستهلكين والموردين. المصدر فاناك عن Mekorot WaTech Division, 2014.

 

دور القطاع الخاص

تساهم الشركات الخاصة في توفير المياه في اسرائيل بطريقتين: من خلال إنتاج وتوريد المياه إلى المناطق التي لا تغطيها ميكوروت، ومن خلال بناء وتشغيل محطات تحلية المياه. لا توجد مُلكية خاصة لموارد المياه في اسرائيل.

منذ عام 1998، تم بناء 11 محطة، بعضها لا يزال قيد الإنشاء، كجزء من الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك سبعة مشاريع حالياً في المراحل المختلفة من التطوير. ويُقدر إجمالي الاستثمار في تحلية المياه من القطاع الخاص بـ1,9 مليار دولار، في حين تُقدر قيمة الاستثمارات الإجمالية لهذه المشاريع بـ5 مليارات دولار. وهذا يتضمن النقل والبناء ومعالجة المياه[6].

تمويل قطاع المياه

كما ذُكر سابقاً، يتم تمويل محطات تحلية المياه في اسرائيل من قِبل القطاع الخاص. ويتم بناء وتشغيل محطات تحلية بموجب عقود الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص من قِبل الشركة الخاصة التي تملك المحطة. تشتري الحكومة المياه من المحطة وذلك بنظام الدفعات كل شهرين، والتي تشمل دفعات ثابتة ومتغيرة وفقاً لأداء المحطة. السعر المحدد هو دفعة غير مشروطة لشركة تحلية المياه وفقاً لمردود المحطة الذي تم الإتفاق عليه في العقد. وهذا يضمن تحقيق عائد على الاستثمار الإنتاجي بغض النظر عن الماء الفعلي المستهلك. الثمن المتغير هو الدفعة لكل متر مكعب من المياه المحلاة المُقدمة للدولة. وهذا يفتح المجال أمام التكاليف المتغيرة للإنتاج (الطاقة، والمواد الكيميائية وغيرها).[7]

يتم دفع التكلفة المتبقية من إمدادات المياه عن طريق التعرفات. ويلخص الشكل (6) تعرفة المياه للمستهلكين في مختلف القطاعات.[8]

Figure 6. Water tariffs for domestic, industrial and agricultural use including variation in tariff based on quality. Source: Fanack after Fernandes, G., 2012.

الشكل (6)رسوم المياه للاستخدام المنزلي والزراعي والصناعي بما في ذلك التباين في التعرفات على أساس الجودة. المصدر: فاناك عن Fernandes, G., 2012

 

ملاحظات:
* المياه منخفضة الجودة تُشير إلى مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة والمياه ذات الجودة الرديئة.
** يتم تخفيض السعر تدريجياً وفقاً لملوحة المياه. كلما ارتفع تركيز الملح تقل التكلفة.
WWTP =محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.


[1] FAO Aquastat, 2008. Israel.
[2] Israel Water Authority, 2012. Long-Term Master Plan for the National Water Sector Part A – Policy Document Version 4.
[3] Mekorot, 2015. Main Facts & Figures.
[4] Mekorot, 2015. Desalination.
[5] Mekorot, 2015. Wastewater Treatment and Effluent Reuse.
[6] Israel Water Authority, Collaboration between Private and Public Sector for Financing Desalination in Israel. No date.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Fernandes, G., 2012. Economics Aspects in Water Management in Israel Policy & Prices.

Home / Israel / Water Management

Water Management

The Hadera desalination plant was built as part of a PPP project. Photo: US Embassy Tel Aviv.Water is considered a public good in Israel. The basis for policies and water administration in Israel is the 1959 Water Law. According to this law, all water belongs to the state. This includes wastewater, sewerage and runoff that could be used commercially as well as water on a landowner’s property.[1]

However, the government works with the private sector to finance desalination projects by appointing private companies to construct and operate the desalination plants according to Build-Operate-Transfer (BOT) schemes (Fig. 8).

Institutions

The Water Authority is the Israeli government’s executive branch in charge of Israel’s water economy. It is responsible for the administration, operation and development (including preservation and restoration) of water resources, the development of new water resources, and oversight of water consumers and producers (Fig. 8). The Water Authority works together with the Water Authority Council forum to regulate water resources and to provide long- and short-term water requirements for the State of Israel. [2]

The Water Authority Council forum is responsible for the timely authorization of all decision-making and policy-setting made by the Israeli Water Authority and associated ministries. The council is made up of eight representatives: five from the ministries of Infrastructures, Environmental Protection, Finance, Interior, Health, one from the Water Authority, as well as two public interest group representatives.

Mekorot is the government-owned company in charge of the NWC. The company was founded in 1937 and began operation of the NWC in 1950 under the supervision of the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources. Mekorot provides approximately 80% of Israel’s drinking water and meets 70% of the total annual water demand in Israel.[3] Additionally, Mekorot owns 34 desalination plants, which provide approximately 40 MCM/yr of treated brackish water.[4] Mekorot also treats approximately 35% of Israel’s wastewater.[5]

Figure 8. Overview of the Israeli water sector showing the relation between regulator, consumers and suppliers. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division, 2014.
Figure 8. Overview of the Israeli water sector showing the relation between regulator, consumers and suppliers. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division, 2014.

Role of the private sector

Private companies contribute to Israel’s water supply in two ways: by producing and supplying water in the areas that Mekorot does not cover, and by constructing and operating desalination plants. There is no private ownership of water resources in Israel.

Since 1998, 11 desalination plants have been built or are under construction as part of public-private partnerships (PPP). Additionally, there are seven projects currently in various stages of development. The total investment in desalination from the private sector is $1.9 billion and the total investment value of these projects is estimated at $5 billion. This includes transportation, construction and water treatment.[6]

Financing the water sector

As previously mentioned, desalination plants in Israel are financed by private companies. The construction and operation of the plants under PPP contracts are financed by the private company that owns the plant. The government buys water from the plant and makes bimonthly payments that include fixed and variable payments depending on the plant’s performance. The fixed price is an unconditional payment to the desalination company based on the output of the plant that is agreed in the contract. This ensures a return on capital investment regardless of actual water consumed. The variable price is the payment for each cubic metre of desalinated water delivered to the state. This allows for the variable costs of production (energy, chemicals etc.).[7]

The remaining cost of water supply is paid for via tariffs. Figure 9 summarizes water tariffs for consumers in different sectors.[8]

 

Figure 9. Water tariffs for domestic, industrial and agricultural use including variation in tariff based on quality. Source: Fanack after Fernandes, G., 2012.
Figure 9. Water tariffs for domestic, industrial and agricultural use including variation in tariff based on quality. Source: Fanack after Fernandes, G., 2012.

Notes:

* Low-quality water refers to treated wastewater and inferior quality water.

** The price is gradually reduced based on salinity of the water. Higher salt concentration reduces cost.

WWTP = wastewater treatment plant.


[1] FAO Aquastat, 2008. Israel.
[2] Israel Water Authority, 2012. Long-Term Master Plan for the National Water Sector Part A – Policy Document Version 4.
[3] Mekorot, 2015. Main Facts & Figures.
[4] Mekorot, 2015. Desalination.
[5] Mekorot, 2015. Wastewater Treatment and Effluent Reuse.
[6] Israel Water Authority, Collaboration between Private and Public Sector for Financing Desalination in Israel. No date.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Fernandes, G., 2012. Economics Aspects in Water Management in Israel Policy & Prices.