الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / التحديات

التحديات

The overexploitation of water resources in Israel affects flow in rivers such as the Jordan. Photo: Mark Wilson.كانت ولا تزال إسرائيل تواجه تحديات فيما يتعلق بقطاع المياه منذ تأسيس الدولة. وقد ساعدت السياسات، والابتكار، والإدارة البلاد في معالجة، وفي بعض الحالات، التغلب على بعض هذه التحديات. واليوم، تعتبر أهم التحديات التي تتعلق بالمياه، عدم كفاءة استخدام المياه، وتزايد الطلب والتحضر، وتغير المناخ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك الجوانب السياسية لإدارة المياه بين اسرائيل وجيرانها والتي لا تزال بحاجة إلى المعالجة، وتحديداً تلك التي بين اسرائيل وفلسطين.

عدم كفاءة استخدام المياه

يعتبر فرط الاستغلال الشائع لموارد المياه الطبيعية مشكلة  طويلة الأمد في اسرئيل، اللأمر الذي يهدد الأمن المائي ويؤثر على كل من السكان والبيئة. كما أنّ الاستهلاك المفرط للمياه الجوفية يسبب استنزاف خزانات المياه الجوفية، الذي أدى بدوره إلى زيادة تكاليف الضخ بسبب انخفاض مستوى المياه الجوفية وجفاف الينابيع والآبار الضحلة. تسبب هذا أيضاً في ارتفاع مستويات الملوحة في الحوض الجوفي الساحلي بسبب تسرب مياه البحر إلى المياه الجوفية.

يواجه الحوض الساحلي ضرراً لا يمكن عكسه بعد سنواتٍ من الإفراط في ضخ المياه. عندما يتعرض خزان الحوض الجوفي الذي يقع بجانب حوض من المياه المالحة للإفراط في الضخ، يمكن للمياه المالحة أن تتسرب إلى المياه الجوفية. فقد تضرر الحوض الساحلي اليوم بسبب تسرب المياه المالحة من البحر الأبيض المتوسط، والتلوث الناجم عن مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة أو المعالجة جزئياً، وبخاصة من قطاع غزة. ترتفع تكلفة معالجة المياه ذات النوعية الرديئة عند المعالجة ويمكن أن تشكل خطراً على صحة المستهلك. وما لم يتم اتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة للحد من التلوث ومنع الإفراط في ضخ المياه، فإن المياه الجوفية الساحلية ستتعرض لأضرار لا يمكن عكسها وتصبح غير صالحة للاستعمال. وهذا هو الحال على وجه الخصوص في قطاع غزة، حيث يتعرض الحوض الجوفي الساحلي للضخ الجائر. كما أن استمرار الصراع بين حماس واسرائيل، يزيد من صعوبة حل هذه القضية على وجه الخصوص.

التعامل مع الطلب المتزايد والتحضر

كما نوقش سابقاً، فمن المتوقع أن يرتفع الطلب على المياه في المستقبل. وتتمثل الطريقة الرئيسية لإسرائيل للتعامل مع هذا الطلب بتطوير مصادر بديلة للمياه، بما في ذلك تحلية المياه وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وضعت سلطة المياه خططاً لتطوير شبكة المياه من أجل تسهيل زيادة الاعتماد على المياه المحلاة، لمواصلة تلبية احتياجات المدن النامية وتزويد المناطق التي قد تواجه نقصاً في المياه.

تغير المناخ

هناك إتفاق، على نطاقٍ واسع، أنّ متوسط درجات الحرارة في اسرائيل قد ارتفع، فضلاً عن انخفاض الهطول المطري على مدى العقد الماضي، وبخاصة في فصل الصيف[1]. وعلى مدى السنوات الـ50 المقبلة، من المتوقع أن تستمر هذه الاتجاهات، بالإضافة إلى زيادة الموجات الحارة، وزيادة خطر حرائق الغابات والأحداث المناخية المتطرفة مثل الفضايات والجفاف، والتي ستؤثر بشدة على قطاع المياه في اسرائيل[2]. ومن المهم الإشارة إلى أنّ هذه النتائج متوقعة، إلا أن آثار تغير المناخ غير مفهومة بشكلٍ تام. ولذلك، تواصل اسرائيل نهج استراتيجيات “لا تورث الندم،” وهذا يعني أن جميع التدابير المتخذة للتحضير لتغير المناخ سيكون لها نتائج إيجابية سواء تغير المناخ أم لم يتغير.

Demand for water in Israel is set to increase with population growth. Photo: Ville Miettinen.
تم تعيين الطلب على المياه في إسرائيل لزيادة النمو السكاني. صور: فيل ميتنن.


[1] Givati, A. Climate Trends in Israel and Effects on Water Resources.
[2] Israeli Climate Change Information Center, 2014. Adaptation to Climate Change in Israel.

Home / Israel / Challenges

Challenges

The overexploitation of water resources in Israel affects flow in rivers such as the Jordan. Photo: Mark Wilson.Israel has been facing water challenges since the country was first established. Policy, innovation and management have helped the country address and in some cases overcome some of these challenges. Today, the main challenges regarding water are inefficient water use, growing demand and urbanization, and climate change. In addition, there are the political aspects of water management between Israel and its neighbours that still need to be addressed, specifically those between Israel and Palestine.

Inefficient water use

The general overexploitation of natural water resources is a long-standing problem in Israel, which threatens water security and affects both the population and the environment. The overuse of groundwater is causing the depletion of aquifers, which has in turn increased pumping costs as the water table drops and springs and shallow wells dry up. It has also increased salinity levels in the Coastal Aquifer as seawater seeps into the groundwater.

The Coastal Aquifer is facing irreversible damage following years of overpumping. When an aquifer that lies beside a saltwater body is overpumped, saltwater can seep into the groundwater. The Coastal Aquifer is today affected by saltwater intrusion from the Mediterranean Sea, and pollution from untreated or partially treated sewage, particularly from Gaza. Water of poor quality is expensive to treat and can pose a health risk to consumers. Unless urgent action is taken to control pollution and to prevent overpumping, the Coastal Aquifer will suffer irreversible damage and become unusable. This is especially the case in Gaza where the Coastal Aquifer is severely overpumped. The continuing conflict between Hamas and Israel makes a solution to this issue particularly problematic.

Coping with growing demand and urbanization

As previously discussed, water demand is expected to increase in the future. Israel’s primary method for coping with this demand is developing alternative sources of water, including desalination and wastewater reuse. Additionally, the Water Authority has outlined plans to develop the water network in order to facilitate greater reliance on desalinated water, to continue meeting the needs of growing cities and to provide areas which may experience water shortages.

Climate change

There is wide agreement that average temperatures in Israel have increased and precipitation has decreased over the last decade, especially in summer.[1] Over the next 50 years these trends are expected to continue, in addition to an increase in heat waves, a higher risk of forest fires and extreme weather events such as floods and droughts, all of which will severely affect Israel’s water sector.[2] It is important to note that these are the expected outcomes, but the effects of climate change are not fully understood. Therefore Israel is proceeding with a ‘no regret’ approach. This means all of the measures taken to prepare for climate change will have a positive outcome with or without climate change.

Demand for water in Israel is set to increase with population growth. Photo: Ville Miettinen.
Demand for water in Israel is set to increase with population growth. Photo: Ville Miettinen.


[1] Givati, A. Climate Trends in Israel and Effects on Water Resources.
[2] Israeli Climate Change Information Center, 2014. Adaptation to Climate Change in Israel.