الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / استهلاك المياه في العراق

استهلاك المياه في العراق

استهلاك المياه في العراق
تم استخدام الغالبية العظمى من المياه في العراق في الزراعة. وتحتل احتياجات البلديات والصناعة إلى جانب مياه منطقة الأهوار ما بين النهرين المرتبة الثانية، على الرغم من أنّ كمية المياه الفعلية التي يتم إرسالها إلى الأهوار تتفاوت من عامٍ لآخر. وفي المرتبة الثالثة، وبنسبة 6%، المياه التي يتم إرسالها إلى الخليج عبر نهر شط العرب.

الاستهلاك الحالي للمياه حسب القطاع وتحليل العجز المحتمل

  • الزراعة
  • البلديات و الصناعة
  • المواشي و مزارع الأسماك
  • الأهوار و المستنقعات
  • التدفق إلى الخليج عن طريق شط نهر العربي

الشكل (1): استهلاك المياه حسب القطاع.[2]

كما يُبين الشكل أدناه، يتم استخدام الغالبية العظمى من المياه في العراق في الزراعة. وتحتل احتياجات البلديات والصناعة إلى جانب مياه منطقة الأهوار ما بين النهرين المرتبة الثانية، على الرغم من أنّ كمية المياه الفعلية التي يتم إرسالها إلى الأهوار تتفاوت من عامٍ لآخر. وفي المرتبة الثالثة، وبنسبة 6%، المياه التي يتم إرسالها إلى الخليج عبر نهر شط العرب. وفي المرتبة الرابعة، وبنسبة ضئيلة، تتم تلبية احتياجات مزارع الأسماك والثروة الحيوانية من المياه.[1]

تُستخدم المياه الجوفيٌة، في المقام الأول، في القطاعات الزراعية والصناعية والبلدية. يعتمد ما مجموعه 20 مشروعاً رسمياً للري على المياه الجوفية لدعم الري،وكذلك مشاريع الري الأخرى في الصحراء الغربية. ويوجد أكثر من 88 ألف بئر في جميع أنحاء البلاد، والتي تزود الأسر والمدن والصناعات بالمياه، على الرغم من عدم توفر معلومات مفصلة حول معدلات الاستهلاك بشكلٍ دائم. كما أنّ هناك أيضاً عدد غير محدد من الآبار غير القانونية.[3]

ومن المتوقع أن يتجاوز العرض الطلب في المستقبل القريب في العراق إن لم يتم الشروع بإصلاحات رئيسية لقطاع المياه.[4]  ويعتبر تدهور البُنية التحتية والتسرّب، وأنظمة الري وأنظمة جمع مياه الصرف التي عفا عليها الزمن، والحوافز السيئة فيما يتعلق بالدعم الزراعي، واستخدام المياه العذبة في إعادة حقن آبار النفط (بدلاً من استخدام بدائل أكثر استدامة مثل مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة)، جوانب ينبغي معالجتها جميعاً إذا ما أراد العراق تلبية الاحتياجات المائية المتوقعة على مدى السنوات العشرين المقبلة.

استخدام المياه في الزراعة وتطوير الري

غالباً ما تتم الزراعة في مزارع صغيرة ذات نظام مدخلات وإنتاج منخفض نسبياً، وهذا يعني الاستخدام المحدود للتكنولوجيا مما ينعكس على انخفاض إنتاج المحاصيل والمكاسب الاقتصادية. كما أن سوء النوعية المتوفرة من الكيماويات الزراعية إلى جانب سوء الاستخدام ونُدرة الأسمدة العضوية، يحدّ أيضاً من إنتاجية المحصول. وعلاوة على ذلك، يسهم قِدم الآلات الزراعية وعدم كفاية المهارات التقنية لمعظم المزارعين في ضعف الإنتاجية.

يستهلك القطاع الزراعي 75% من إجمالي موارد المياه في العراق. ونتيجة لذلك، عند حدوث الجفاف، يكون القطاع الزراعي الأكثر تضرراً. فعلى سبيل المثال، ما بين عاميّ 2008 و2009، أتلف الجفاف ما يصل إلى 40% من الأراضي الزراعية في العراق، كما أنّ الضرر الذي شهدته محافظتي نينوى وأربيل تجاوز ما نسبته 50% من الأراضي الزراعية. وما يُضاعف التهديدات بالجفاف أيضاً، توسع الأراضي المزروعة للقمح وحده التي تتطلب الري بنسبه 33% بين عامي 2000 و2010.[5]

[1] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Louise Sarant, 2013. ‘Massive loss of fresh water in Middle East revealed’. Nature Middle East. Available at www.natureasia.com/en/nmiddleeast/article/10.1038/nmiddleeast.2013.26, accessed 6 June 2016.
[4] Kira Walker, 2012. ‘In Iraq, fresh water may soon be a thing of the past’. Available at www.thenational.ae/thenationalconversation/comment/in-iraq-fresh-water-may-soon-be-a-thing-of-the-past, accessed 6 June 2016.
[5] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.

Home / Iraq / Water Uses in Iraq

Water Uses in Iraq

water uses in Iraq river
Photo 1: Tributary to Lesser Zab River, outside Mawat, Kurdistan Region, Iraq. (source : Virginia Tice).

Current water use per sector and analysis of possible deficit

As figure 1 shows, the vast majority of water in Iraq is used for agriculture. Municipal and industrial needs and water for the Mesopotamian Marshlands are tied for second place, although the actual water sent to the marshes varies from year to year. In third place at 6% is water that is sent to the Gulf via the Shatt al-Arab River. A distant fourth place is for fish farms and livestock.[1]

Groundwater is primarily used in the agricultural, industrial and municipal sectors. A total of 20 official irrigation projects rely on groundwater to support irrigation as well as other irrigation projects in the western desert. More than 88,000 wells are located across the country, supplying families, cities and industries with water, although detailed information about consumption rates are not always available. There is also an undetermined number of illegal wells.[3]

  • Agriculture
  • Industrial and municipal
  • Fish farms and livestock
  • Marshlands
  • Flow to the Gulf via the Shatt Al Arab River

Figure 1. Water usage by sector.[2]

Demand is set to outpace supply in the near future if Iraq does not embark on major reforms of the water sector.[4] Infrastructure deterioration and leakages, an outdated irrigation and drainage water collection system, perverse incentives in farm subsidies, and use of fresh water for oil well re-injection (instead of more sustainable alternatives like treated wastewater) are all areas that must be addressed if Iraq is to meet its projected water needs over the next 20 years.

Agricultural water use and irrigation development

Agriculture is mostly practiced on small farms and is a relatively low input, low output system, meaning limited technology is used and consequently crop yields and economic gains are low. The poor quality of available agro-chemicals together with the misuse and scarcity of organic fertilizers also limits crop yields. Moreover, the obsolescence of farm machinery and inadequate technical skills of most farmers contribute to poor productivity.

The agricultural sector consumes 75% of Iraq’s overall water resources. As a result, when a drought occurs, agriculture is among the hardest hit. For example, in 2008 and 2009, drought damaged almost 40% of Iraq’s cropland, and Ninewa and Erbil experienced damage to over 50% of their cropland. Compounding the threats of drought, the cultivated land requiring irrigation for wheat alone has expanded by 33% between 2000 and 2010.[5]

[1] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Louise Sarant, 2013. ‘Massive loss of fresh water in Middle East revealed’. Nature Middle East. Available at www.natureasia.com/en/nmiddleeast/article/10.1038/nmiddleeast.2013.26, accessed 6 June 2016.
[4] Kira Walker, 2012. ‘In Iraq, fresh water may soon be a thing of the past’. Available at www.thenational.ae/thenationalconversation/comment/in-iraq-fresh-water-may-soon-be-a-thing-of-the-past, accessed 6 June 2016.
[5] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.