الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / استهلاك المياه في مصر

استهلاك المياه في مصر

الصورة 1: مزارعون يزرعون الخس ، بينما يقوم مزارع آخر بحفر قناة صغيرة (مروة) بإستخدام حمار. (المصدر:  Flickr, Hamish John, IWMI)
الصورة 1: مزارعون يزرعون الخس ، بينما يقوم مزارع آخر بحفر قناة صغيرة (مروة) بإستخدام حمار. (المصدر: Flickr, Hamish John, IWMI)

يتزايد استهلاك المياه في مصر بسبب ارتفاع أعداد السكان وتحسّن مستوى المعيشة، فضلاً عن سياسة الحكومة المتمثلة في تشجيع التصنيع وتوسيع قطاع الزراعة.

استهلاك المياه حسب القطاع والتوازن المائي

يبلغ حجم الموارد المائية المتاحة حالياً 55,5 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة من نهر النيل، و1,3 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة من الهطول المطري الفعلي في الأجزاء الشمالية لدلتا النيل، و2 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه الجوفية غير المتجددة من الصحراء الغربية وسيناء- أي ما مجموعه 58,8 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة- في حين تبلغ احتياجات المياه للقطاعات المختلفة 79,5 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة. وبالتالي، تبلغ الفجوة بين العرض والطلب حوالي 20 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة. ويتم سد هذه الفجوة من خلال معالجة المياه. تبلغ الكفاءة الكلية لنظام النيل في مصر حوالي 80%.[1]  وتستخدم الكثير من المياه في مصر عدة مرات في رحلتها عبر البلاد.

المياه

الشكل (1). التوازن المائي في مصر. [1]

  • مياه النيل
  • المياه الجوفية العمية
  • الأمطار

الشكل 2. توافر المياه في مصر.[3]

  • الزراعة
  • المحلي
  • الصناعة والكهرباء

الشكل 3. استهلاك المياه في مصر.[4]

إن سحوبات المياه لكل قطاع هي كالآتي:

  • الزراعة: يستهلك القطاع الزراعي أكبر حصة من المياه، والتي تمثل أكثر من 85% من حصة مصر من مياه النيل. وعلى الرغم من أن البلاد فقدت بعض أراضيها الخصبة بسبب التحضر، إلا أنه تمت موازنة ذلك من خلال التوسع في المناطق الزراعية في الصحراء.وقد قُدر إجمالي الأراضي المزروعة بـ3,8 مليون هكتار في 2015/2016.[5] تعتبر الزراعة ضرورية للاقتصاد؛ حيث تمثل قيمتها المضافة 14,5% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. وفي عام 2016، بلغ الدخل الزراعي 256,9 مليار جنيه مصري. كما يوظف القطاع 29,6% من السكان العاملين، ويمثل ما نسبته 11% من جميع الصادرات. وبسبب نقص المياه، اتخذت الحكومة تدابيراً في يناير 2018 للحد من زراعة المحاصيل كثيفة استهلاك المياه مثل الأرز.
  • احتياجات مياه البلدية:وقد قدرت هذه بـ10 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة في عام 2013. يعتمد حوالي 97% من سكان المناطق الحضرية و 70% من سكان الريف على إمدادات المياه من خطوط الأنابيب. ويتم تلبية احتياجات مياه البلديات من خلال مصدرين: المياه السطحية، والتي توفر حوالي 83% من إجمالي مياه البلدية، والمياه الجوفية، والتي توفر الـ17% المتبقية.
  • القطاع الصناعي: قدرت وزارة الموارد المائية والري احتياجات القطاع الصناعي من المياه بـ5,4 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة في عام 2017.
  • السياحة: تعتبر السياحة في مصر من الأنشطة المستهلكة للمياه بسبب الحاجة إلى ري ملاعب الجولف، وملء أحواض السباحة، والنوافير والبحيرات الصناعية، وإمداد الفنادق بالمياه، وما إلى ذلك.[6] وإذا ما تحققت خطط الحكومة لجذب 20 مليون سائح سنوياً بحلول عام 2020، فسيكون قطاع السياحة أحد المستهلكين الرئيسيين للمياه.
  • الملاحة: يتم استخدام نهر النيل وجزء من شبكة الري للملاحة.إن السياسة الحالية هي أنه لا يوجد صرف حصري للمياه للملاحة. ومع ذلك، فإن هناك حد أدنى مضمون لصرف المياه (75 مليون متر مكعب/ الساعة) من سد أسوان العالي، وهو مطلوب أيضاً لاستهلاك مياه الشرب على طول نهر النيل.
Polka-Dot Desert
Photo 2: Polka-Dot Desert - center-point irrigation farms in Egypt. A life necessity viewed from a stellar vantage point. (Source: SpaceRef Webmaster, Flickr)

الصورة 2: مزارع ري مركزي في مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, SpaceRef Webmaster)ر[3]

استهلاك المياه المتوقع

تهدف الخطة الوطنية للموارد المائية التابعة لوزارة الموارد المائية والري  لعام 2037 إلى حماية الموارد المائية المتاحة، والتي تشمل حصتها من مياه النيل والمياه الجوفية والموارد غير التقليدية والمياه الزراعية. وتتضمن الخطة الوطنية للموارد المائية هدفاً للحد من استهلاك المياه الزراعية والصناعية والمنزلية إلى 80% من الاستهلاك الحالي. كما تلخص الخطة إجراءات واضحة للتعامل مع التحديات الحالية والمستقبلية في قطاع المياه من خلال تنفيذ برامج لتحلية المياه في المناطق الساحلية، والري الحديث، وإعادة استخدام المياه، وحصاد المياه في مناطق أخرى غير وادي النيل. وتقوم الخطة على أربع ركائز رئيسية: خلق بيئة مواتية، وتطوير الموارد المائية، وتحسين جودة المياه وترشيد استهلاك المياه.

استخدام المياه في الزراعة وتطوير الري

تعتبر الزراعة مستهلكاً رئيسياً للمياه، وذلك  المناخ الجاف يعني أن جميع الأراضي الزراعية تقريباً تعتمد على الري. وعلى الرغم من اعتماد مصر على الواردات لتوفير الغذاء الكافي لسكانها الذين تشهد أعدادهم تزايداً منذ عدة عقود، إلا أن الزراعة تظل واحدةً من الأنشطة الاقتصادية الرئيسية. فقد ارتبطت الزراعة ونهر النيل بمصر منذ العصور القديمة، ولا تزال العلاقة بينهما قويةً جداً; فوفرة ضوء الشمس على مدار السنة والتربة الخصبة بالقرب وادي النيل والدلتا تدعمان  زراعة محاصيل مثل الأرز والقمح والذرة والسكر والبصل والتبغ.

تتكون الأراضي الزراعية من أراضٍ قديمة في وادي ودلتا النيل، والمناطق البعلية، والعديد من الواحات، والأراضي الجديدة المستصلحة من الصحراء منذ عام 1952.وقد بلغ إجمالي المساحة المزروعة 3,8 مليون هكتار في عام 2013، أي حوالي 4% من إجمالي مساحة الأراضي في البلاد. [7]

وإن لدى مصر تاريخٌ طويل فيما يتعلق بالري، لا سيما على طول ضفاف نهر النيل. وتتألف البنية التحتية الأولى للري من السدود والقنوات لتحويل مسار مياه النيل إلى أحواض وتوسيع المناطق المروية.وتهدف خطط تطوير الري الحالية إلى زيادة المساحة المروية وتحسين كفاءة استهلاك المياه.

[1] MWRI, 2014. ‘Water Scarcity in Egypt.’ Available at www.mfa.gov.eg/SiteCollectionDocuments/Egypt%20Water%20Resources%20Paper_2014.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[2] MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[3] Abukila, F. A., 2015. ‘Assessing the drain estuaries’ water quality in response to pollution abatement.’ Available at www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1110492915000053), accessed [10-11-2018].

[4] Abukila, F. A., 2015. ‘Assessing the drain estuaries’ water quality in response to pollution abatement.’ Available at www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1110492915000053), accessed [10-11-2018].

[5] CAPMAS, no date. Available at www.capmas.gov.eg/Pages/IndicatorsPage.aspx?page_id=6151&ind_id=2361, accessed [10-11-2018].

[6] ICARDA, 2011. ‘Water and Agriculture in Egypt.’

[7] AQUASTAT, no date. ‘Regional report.’ Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/EGY/, accessed [10-11-2018].

Home / Egypt / Water Use in Egypt

Water Use in Egypt

Egypt- marrwa
Photo1: Farmers cultivating lettuce, while another farmer digs a small canal (marrwa) with a donkey. (Source: Hamish John, IWMI, Flickr)

Water use in Egypt is growing due to a rising population and improving standard of living as well as the government policy of encouraging industrialization and the expansion of the agriculture sector.

Water Use per sector and the Water Balance

Water resources currently available for use are 55.5 BCM/yr from the Nile River, 1.3 BCM/yr effective rainfall in the northern part of the Nile Delta and 2 BCM/yr non-renewable groundwater from the Western Desert and Sinai – a total of 58.8 BCM/yr – while the water needs from different sectors are about 79.5 BCM/yr. Thus, the gap between supply and demand is about 20 BCM/yr. This gap is overcome by recycling. The overall efficiency of the Nile system in Egypt is about 80%.[1] Much of Egypt’s water is used multiple times on its journey through the country.

water use

Figure 1. Water balance in Egypt.[2]

  • Nile Water
  • Deep aquifier
  • Rainfall

Figure 2. Water availability in Egypt.[3]

  • Agriculture
  • Municipal
  • Industry and Electricity

Figure 3. Water consumption in Egypt.[4]

Water withdrawals in each sector are as follows:

  • Agriculture: The agriculture sector utilizes the largest amount of water, which corresponds to more than 85% of Egypt’s share of Nile water. Although the country lost some of its fertile land to urbanization, this has been balanced by expansion of agricultural areas in the desert. The total cultivated land was estimated at 3.8 million hectares in 2015/2016.[5] Agriculture is crucial to the economy; its added value accounts for 14.5% of GDP. In 2016, this amounted to agricultural income of 256.9 billion Egyptian pounds. The sector also employs 29.6% of the active population and represents 11% of all exports. Because of water shortages, the government took measures in January 2018 to reduce the cultivation of water-intensive crops like rice.
  • Municipal water requirements: These were estimated to be 10 BCM/yr in 2013. Approximately 97% of the urban population and 70% of the rural population rely on a piped water supply. Municipal water needs are met by two sources: surface water, which supplies about 83% of total municipal water, and groundwater, which supplies the remaining 17%.
  • Industrial sector: The Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation (MWRI) estimated the water requirements of the industrial sector to be 5.4 BCM/yr in 2017.
  • Tourism: In Egypt, tourism is a water-consuming activity because of the need to irrigate golf courses, fill swimming pools, fountains and artificial lakes, supply hotels and so on.[6] If the government’s plans to attract 20 million tourists per year by 2020 are realized, the tourism sector will be one of the main water consumers.
  • Navigation: The Nile River and part of the irrigation network are used for navigation. The present policy is that there is no exclusive release of water for navigation. There is, however, a guaranteed minimum release (75 MCM/d) from the Aswan High Dam, which is also required for some drinking water intakes along the Nile.
Polka-Dot Desert
Photo 2: Polka-Dot Desert - center-point irrigation farms in Egypt. A life necessity viewed from a stellar vantage point. (Source: SpaceRef Webmaster, Flickr)

Projected Water Use

The MWRI’s National Water Resources Plan (NWRP) to 2037 aims to safeguard Egypt’s available water resources, which include its share of Nile water, groundwater, non-conventional resources and agricultural water. The NWRP includes the target to reduce agricultural, industrial and domestic water consumption to 80% of current usage. The plan also outlines clear procedures for dealing with current and future challenges in the water sector by implementing programs for desalination in coastal areas, modern irrigation, water reuse and water harvesting in areas other than the Nile Valley. The plan is based on four major pillars: creating an enabling environment, developing water resources, enhancing water quality and rationalizing water use.

Agricultural Water Use and Irrigation Development

Agriculture is a major water consumer, not least because the arid climate means that nearly all agricultural land relies on irrigation. Although Egypt has been dependent on imports to provide sufficient food for its growing population for several decades, agriculture remains one of the main economic activities. Agriculture and the Nile River have been associated with Egypt since ancient times, and this connection remains strong. Plentiful year-round sunlight and fertile soil around the Nile Valley and Delta favour crops such as rice, wheat, corn, sugar, onions and tobacco.

The agricultural land base consists of old land in the Nile Valley and Delta, rainfed areas, several oases and new land reclaimed from the deserts since 1952. The total cultivated area was 3.8 million hectares in 2013, or about 4% of the total area of the country.[7]

Egypt has a history of irrigation, notably along the banks of the Nile. The first irrigation infrastructure consisted of embankments and canals to divert Nile water into basins and expand the irrigated areas. Current irrigation development plans aim to increase the area irrigated and improve water use efficiency.

[1] MWRI, 2014. ‘Water Scarcity in Egypt.’ Available at www.mfa.gov.eg/SiteCollectionDocuments/Egypt%20Water%20Resources%20Paper_2014.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[2] MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[3] Abukila, F. A., 2015. ‘Assessing the drain estuaries’ water quality in response to pollution abatement.’ Available at www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1110492915000053), accessed [10-11-2018].

[4] Abukila, F. A., 2015. ‘Assessing the drain estuaries’ water quality in response to pollution abatement.’ Available at www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1110492915000053), accessed [10-11-2018].

[5] CAPMAS, no date. Available at www.capmas.gov.eg/Pages/IndicatorsPage.aspx?page_id=6151&ind_id=2361, accessed [10-11-2018].

[6] ICARDA, 2011. ‘Water and Agriculture in Egypt.’

[7] AQUASTAT, no date. ‘Regional report.’ Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/EGY/, accessed [10-11-2018].