الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / إدارة المياه في مصر

إدارة المياه في مصر

الصورة 1: منظر من الأعلى لنهر النيل بين مدينتي أسوان والقاهرة. (المصدر: Flickr; A lot of words)
الصورة 1: منظر من الأعلى لنهر النيل بين مدينتي أسوان والقاهرة. (المصدر: Flickr; A lot of words)

من أجل التعامل مع القضايا التقنية والسياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية المتزايدة التعقيد، قد أنشأت وزارة الموارد المائية والري على مر السنين العديد من الوحدات المتخصصة والإدارات القادرة على التعامل مع الصرف الصحي والمياه الجوفية وجودة المياه وتحسين الري. وفي عام 2005، قد نفذت الحكومة خطة الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية، والتي استمرت حتى عام 2017. وقد تم إطلاق خطة أخرى في عام 2010، والتي تمتد حتى عام 2030. واليوم، فقد اقترحت وزارة الموارد المائية والري تمديد الجدول الزمني إلى عام 2037. وقد تم وضع هذه الخطة بتكلفةٍ أولية قدرها حوالي 20 مليار دولار لحماية الموارد المائية المتاحة في مصر، والتي تشمل حصة مصر من مياه النيل، بالإضافة إلى المياه الجوفية والموارد غير التقليدية.

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

تعتبر وزارة الموارد المائية والري المؤسسة الحكومية الرئيسية في قطاع المياه. وقد اعتمدت سياسة لدمج جميع وظائف إدارة المياه على مستوى الأقسام لمساعدة الإدارة اللامركزية. ولدعم التنفيذ، فقد شكلت وزارة الموارد المائية والري وحدة الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية في ديسمبر 2003، والتي أنشأت عدداً من اتحادات مستخدمي مياه القنوات الفرعية لتعزيز مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة. ويوفر إنشاء اتحادات مستخدمي مياه القنوات الفرعية فرصاً لأصحاب المصلحة الإقليميين والمحليين، بما في ذلك المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية، للمشاركة في عملية إدارة المياه. وإن أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الآخرين المشاركين في قطاع المياه هم:
● وزارة الزراعة واستصلاح الأراضي
● وزارة الإسكان والمرافق والتنمية العمرانية
● الهيئة العامة للتصنيع
● وزارة الصحة والسكان
● وزارة الدولة لشؤون البيئة
● هيئة النقل النهري
● وزارة التنمية المحلية
6.2 القوانين واللوائح

القوانين واللوائح

لطالما قدمت مصر قوانين لضبط استهلاك مياه النيل والتحكم في استخدامها. وقد تغيرت هذه القوانين من وقتٍ لآخر وفقًا للظروف الهيدرولوجية للنهر والتطورات السياسية والمؤسسية في البلاد. ويتناول التشريع عموماً العديد من القضايا الرئيسية وهي: الحماية من الفيضانات، وتنظيم التدفق وتوزيع المياه؛ وحماية الموارد المائية من النفايات والتلوث وحماية قنوات وسدود النهر؛ وإدارة الصرف الزراعي.وإن القوانين الرئيسية التي تحكم هذه القضايا هي:
● القانون رقم 12 (1982)، والمتعلق بالري والصرف؛
● القانون رقم 213 (1994)، بشأن مشاركة المزارعين؛
● القانون رقم 48 (1982)، بشأن حماية نهر النيل والمجاري المائية من التلوث؛
● القانون رقم 4 (1994)، بشأن البيئة.

وتمضي الحكومة في إدخال تعديلاتٍ على القانون رقم 12 لمراعاة مشاركة مستخدمي المياه في تشغيل وصيانة نظام الري، بما في ذلك فرض عقوبات وغرامات على المخالفين للقانون.

تمويل قطاع المياه

إنه من المرجح أن تسعى سياسات الحكومة الحالية والمستقبلية بشأن المياه إلى الحصول على تمويل أولي من مصادر وطنية، مثل الضرائب ورسوم من المستهلكين في القطاع الزراعي ورسوم المستهلكين في قطاع البلديات والقطاع الصناعي. ومنذ عام 2000، قد تم إنفاق 15% في المتوسط من الاستثمارات العامة على البنية التحتية الوطنية للري والبرامج المتعلقة بالمياه.[1] كما يتم تخصيص بعض مساعدات التنمية الأجنبية لقطاع المياه. وتتمثل المشاريع الجارية في إعادة تأهيل محطات الضخ للصرف والري، بتمويل من البنك الإسلامي للتنمية، وبرنامج الصرف الصحي الوطني، بتمويل من بنك التنمية الأفريقي، وقناطر أسيوط ومحطات الطاقة الكهرمائية. وقد حصل قطاع المياه على أموال إضافية من الاتحاد الأوروبي واليابان والصندوق العربي.[2]

دور القطاع الخاص في إدارة المياه

قد اقترحت الحكومة، ضمن خطة الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية، زيادة المساهمات من المستخدمين. ومع ذلك، فلا تزال التغييرات التشريعية مطلوبة لتنفيذ هذا الاقتراح وتيسير مشاركة القطاع الخاص في تمويل وتطوير وتشغيل أنظمة الري استجابةً لتفضيلات المستخدم واستعداده للدفع. وتعكس الخطة الإرادة السياسية القوية لجذب المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص في مجموعة من قطاعات البنية التحتية من خلال إنشاء وحدة مركزية للشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص ضمن وزارة المالية.

[1] World Bank, 2005. ‘Cost-effectiveness and equity in Egypt’s water sector.’ Available at www.mof.gov.eg/MOFGallerySource/English/policy-notes/Cost%20Effectiveness%20and%20Equity%20in%20Egypt%27s%20Water%20Sector%20-%20May%202005.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[2] Ministry of International Cooperation. Available at www.investment.gov.eg/Front/Projects/Projects.aspx, accessed [10-11-2018].

Home / Egypt / Water Management in Egypt

Water Management in Egypt

Photo 1: A top view of The Nile River between Aswan and Cairo. (Source: A lot of words, Flickr)
Photo 1: A top view of The Nile River between Aswan and Cairo. (Source: A lot of words, Flickr)

In order to deal with increasingly complex technical, political, social and economic issues, the MWRI has over the years set up various specialized units and departments able to deal with drainage, groundwater, water quality and irrigation improvement. In 2005, the government implemented its Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) plan, which ran until 2017. Another plan was launched in 2010, which runs to 2030. The MWRI has now proposed extending that date to 2037. At an initial cost of about $20 billion, this plan is set to safeguard Egypt’s available water resources, which include Egypt’s share of Nile water, as well as groundwater and non-conventional resources.

Key Governmental and Non-governmental Organizations

The MWRI is the main governmental organization in the water sector. It has adopted a policy to integrate all water management functions at the district level to assist decentralized management. To support implementation, the MWRI formed the Integrated Water Management Unit (IWMU) in December 2003, which has established a number of Branch Canal Water Users’ Associations (BCWUA) to promote stakeholders’ participation. Establishing a BCWUA provides opportunities for regional and local stakeholders, including governmental and non-governmental organizations, to participate in the process of water management. Other major stakeholders involved in the water sector are:

  • Ministry of Agriculture and Land Reclamation
  • Ministry of Housing, Public Utilities and New Urban Societies
  • General Organization for Industrialization
  • Ministry of Health and Population
  • State Ministry for Environmental Affairs
  • River Transportation Authority
  • Ministry of Local development

Laws and Regulations

Egypt has long introduced laws to regulate Nile water and control its use. These laws have changed from time to time according to the hydrological conditions of the river and political and institutional developments in the country. Legislation generally deals with several main issues: flood protection, flow regulation and water distribution; protection of water resources from waste and pollution and protection of the river embankments canals and drains; and management of the agricultural drainage works. The main laws governing these issues are:

  • Law 12 (1982), concerning irrigation and drainage;
  • Law 213 (1994), regarding farmer participation;
  • Law 48 (1982), concerning the protection of the Nile River and waterways from pollution;
  • Law 4 (1994), concerning the environment.

The government is proceeding with modifications to Law 12 to account for water users’ participation in the operation and maintenance of the irrigation system, including imposing penalties and fines for violating the law.

Financing of the Water Sector

The government’s present and future water policies are likely to seek primary financing from national sources, such as taxes, agricultural user fees and municipal/industrial user fees. Since 2000, an annual average of 15% of public investments have been spent on national irrigation infrastructure and water-related programs.[1] Some foreign development aid is also allocated to the water sector. The ongoing projects are the rehabilitation of pumping stations for drainage and irrigation, funded by the Islamic Development Bank, the National Drainage Programme, funded by the African Development Bank, and the Assiut Barrage and Hydropower Plant. The water sector has acquired additional funds from the European Union, Japan and the Arab Fund.[2]

Role of the Private Sector in Water Management

In the IWRM plan, the government proposed increasing contributions from users. However, legislative changes are still required to implement this proposal and facilitate private sector participation in financing, developing and operating irrigation systems in response to user preferences and willingness to pay. The plan reflects the strong political will to attract private investors in a range of infrastructure sectors by establishing a central Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Unit within the Ministry of Finance.

[1] World Bank, 2005. ‘Cost-effectiveness and equity in Egypt’s water sector.’ Available at www.mof.gov.eg/MOFGallerySource/English/policy-notes/Cost%20Effectiveness%20and%20Equity%20in%20Egypt%27s%20Water%20Sector%20-%20May%202005.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[2] Ministry of International Cooperation. Available at www.investment.gov.eg/Front/Projects/Projects.aspx, accessed [10-11-2018].