الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / البُنية التحتية للمياه في مصر

البُنية التحتية للمياه في مصر

الصورة 1: قناة السويس، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Ugborough)
الصورة 1: قناة السويس، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Ugborough)

تقع البُنية التحتية الرئيسية للمياه في مصر على نهر النيل، وخصوصاً السد العالي في أسوان، وسد أسوان القديم، وعدد من القناطر عند المصب.

السدود والقناطر

إن أول القناطر التي قد تم بناؤها هي قناطر الدلتا في منطقة القناطر في وقتٍ مبكر من عام 1861. وتبلغ القدرة التخزينية لسد أسوان القديم، والذي تم بناؤه بين عامي 1899 و1902، 5 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة. وقد تم بناء السد العالي في أسوان عند أعلى مجرى سد أسوان القديم. وقد اكتمل بناؤه في عام 1970 بخزانٍ (بحيرة ناصر) تبلغ سعته  التخزينية 162 مليار متر مكعب، والذي يتضمن تخزيناً طويل الأجل يبلغ 31 مليار متر مكعب، وسعةَ تخزينٍ حيّةٍ تبلغ 90 مليار متر مكعب، وسعةَ تخزينٍ لحالات الطوارىء تبلغ 41 مليار متر مكعب للحماية من الفيضانات.[1] ويتم التحكم بمستوى وتوزيع المياه أسفل مجرى أسوان من خلال عدد من القناطر المجهزة بهويسات (بوابات تنزلق عموديا)  للسماح بمرور القوارب.

الصورة 2: سد أسوان، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Elias Rovielo)
الصورة 2: سد أسوان، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Elias Rovielo)

نظام القنوات

يتم تحويل مجرى المياه في نهر النيل إلى الأراضي الزراعية من خلال تسلسل هرمي للقنوات العامة، والتي تشمل النواقل أو القنوات الأساسية والقنوات الرئيسية، والقنوات الثانوية (أو الفروع)، وقنوات الدرجة الثالثة (الأفرع التابعة). وتقوم قنوات الفروع بتوصيل المياه إلى قنوات خاصة تسمى المساقي. يتم توزيع المياه، والتوزيع على مستوى المزارع، وفقاً لنظام معقد من الدورات. [2] إن نظام القنوات واسع جداً، ولا سيما في دلتا النيل. وتعتبر الحكومة مسؤولة عن تشغيل وصيانة الأنظمة العامة. يقوم هذا النظام بتوصيل المياه إلى المساقي، حيث تخدم كل منها مساحة تتراوح ما بين 20 إلى 80 هكتاراً تقريباً. وتغذي المساقي المراوي، وهي خنادق تصل إلى المَزارع، والتي تخدم ما يصل إلى 8 هكتارات.

canals along the Nile River

الشكل 1. نظام القناطر والقنوات الرئيسية على طول نهر النيل.[3]

Nile Delta

الخريطة 1: قنوات الري في دلتا النيل. [4]

نظام الصرف الصحي

قد تم إنشاء نظام صرف صحي مفتوح وموّسع على طول مجرى نهر النيل لسد أسوان العالي لنقل مياه الري الفائضة إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط والبحيرات الطرفية.

وقد بدأ بناء نظام الصرف المفتوح في نهاية القرن التاسع عشر عندما تأثرت التربة بشكل كبير بسبب ارتفاع منسوب المياه وزيادة الملوحة. وفي الوقت الحالي، يغطي النظام جميع الأراضي المزروعة في وادي ودلتا النيل. ويبلغ طوله حوالي 16686 كيلومتراً، 67% منها في منطقة الدلتا والباقي في صعيد مصر ومصر الوسطى.

Egypt_Drainage System_3000px

الخريطة 2: قنوات التصريف الرئيسية في دلتا النيل. [5]

الطاقة الكهرومائية

يتم توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية في سد أسوان العالي، وسد أسوان القديم وقناطر إسنا ونجع حمادي. وتشكل الطاقة الكهرومائية حوالي 3% من إنتاج الطاقة في مصر. وفي عام 2012، قد أنتجت البلاد ما يقرب من 13,2 مليار كيلوواط ساعيٍّ من الكهرباء من الطاقة الكهرومائية.[6]

محطات الطاقة الكهرومائيةالقدرة (ميغا واط)
سد أسوان العالي2.100
سد أسوان القديم615
سد إسنا90
نجع حمادي5

الجدول (1): محطات توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية الرئيسية في مصر. [7]

<a href=”#_ftnref1″ name=”_ftn1″>[1]</a> Nile Basin Initiative, 2016. ‘Nile Basin Water Resources Atlas, Chapter 7 – Water Demand, Use and Hydraulic Infrastructure’. Available at <a href=”http://nileis.nilebasin.org/system/files/Nile%20Basin%20Water%20Resources%20Atlas_chapter%207.pdf”>http://nileis.nilebasin.org/system/files/Nile%20Basin%20Water%20Resources%20Atlas_chapter%207.pdf</a>, accessed [10-11-2018].

<a href=”#_ftnref2″ name=”_ftn2″>[2]</a> ICARDA, 2011. ‘Water and Agriculture in Egypt.’

<a href=”#_ftnref3″ name=”_ftn3″>[3]</a> Water resource management in Modern Egypt, Martin Hvidt in : The middle eastern environment, December 1995

<a href=”#_ftnref4″ name=”_ftn4″>[4]</a> MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at <a href=”http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf”>http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf</a>, accessed [10-11-2018].

<a href=”#_ftnref5″ name=”_ftn5″>[5]</a> MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at <a href=”http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf”>http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf</a>, accessed [10-11-2018].

<a href=”#_ftnref6″ name=”_ftn6″>[6]</a> US Energy Information Administration, 2018. ‘Country Analysis Brief: Egypt.’ Available at <a href=”http://www.eia.gov/beta/international/analysis.php?iso=EGY”>www.eia.gov/beta/international/analysis.php?iso=EGY</a>, accessed [10-11-2018].

<a href=”#_ftnref7″ name=”_ftn7″>[7]</a> MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at <a href=”http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf”>http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf</a>, accessed [10-11-2018].

Home / Egypt / Water Infrastructure in Egypt

Water Infrastructure in Egypt

Suez Canal
Photo 1: Suez Canal, Egypt. (Source: Ugborough, Flickr)

The main water infrastructure in Egypt is on the Nile River, notably the Aswan High Dam, the Aswan Old Dam and a number of downstream barrages.

Dams and Barrages

The first barrage was the Delta Barrage at el-Kanater, built as early as 1861. The Aswan Old Dam, constructed between 1899 and 1902, has a storage volume of 5 BCM/yr. The Aswan High Dam was built upstream of the Aswan Old Dam. It was completed in 1970, with a reservoir (Lake Nasser) of 162 BCM, consisting of a dead storage of 31 BCM, active storage of 90 BCM and emergency storage of 41 BCM for flood protection[1]. Downstream of Aswan, the water level and water distribution are controlled by a number of barrages fitted with locks to allow the passage of boats.

Aswan Dam
Photo 2: Aswan Dam, Egypt. (Source: Elias Rovielo, Flickr)

Canal System

Water in the Nile River is diverted to agricultural lands through a hierarchy of public canals that comprise carriers or principal canals, main canals, secondary (or branch) canals and tertiary (or sub‐branch) canals. The branch canals deliver water into private canals that are called mesqas. Water distribution and farm‐level delivery are in accordance with a complex system of rotations.[2] The canal system is very extensive, in particular in the Nile Delta. The government is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the public system. This system delivers water to mesqas, each serving an area from approximately 20 to 80 hectares. Mesqas feed merwas, the farm ditches that serve up to 8 hectares.

canals along the Nile River

Figure 1. System of barrages and main canals along the Nile River.[3]

Nile Delta

Map 1. Irrigation canals in the Nile Delta.[4]

Drainage System

An intensive open drainage system was constructed along the Nile downstream of the Aswan High Dam to transfer excess irrigation water to the Mediterranean Sea and terminal lakes.

Construction of the open drainage system started at the end of the 19th century when the soil was affected dramatically by the high water table and increased salinity. At present, the system covers all the cultivated land in the Nile Valley and Delta. It is about 16,686 km in length, of which 67% is in the Delta region and the rest is in Upper and Middle Egypt.

Map 2. Main drainage canals in the Nile Delta.[5]

Hydropower

Hydropower is generated at the Aswan High Dam, the Aswan Old Dam and the Esna and Nag Hammadi barrages. Hydropower makes up about 3% of Egypt’s energy production. In 2012, the country produced approximately 13.2 billion kilowatt hours of electricity from hydropower.[6]

Hydropower StationCapacity ( MW )
High Aswan Dam2.100
Old Aswan Dam615
Esna Barrage90
Nag Hamady5

Table 1. Main hydropower stations in Egypt.[7]

[1] Nile Basin Initiative, 2016. ‘Nile Basin Water Resources Atlas, Chapter 7 – Water Demand, Use and Hydraulic Infrastructure’. Available at http://nileis.nilebasin.org/system/files/Nile%20Basin%20Water%20Resources%20Atlas_chapter%207.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[2] ICARDA, 2011. ‘Water and Agriculture in Egypt.’

[3] Water resource management in Modern Egypt, Martin Hvidt in : The middle eastern environment, December 1995

[4] MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[5] MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].

[6] US Energy Information Administration, 2018. ‘Country Analysis Brief: Egypt.’ Available at www.eia.gov/beta/international/analysis.php?iso=EGY, accessed [10-11-2018].

[7] MWRI, 2005. ‘National Water Resources Plan for Egypt 2017.’ Available at http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/egy147082.pdf, accessed [10-11-2018].