الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / الموارد المائية المشتركة في مصر

الموارد المائية المشتركة في مصر

الصورة 1: نهر النيل، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Roderick Eime)
الصورة 1: نهر النيل، مصر. (المصدر: Flickr, Roderick Eime)

موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية المشتركة

يعد الجانب الدولي عاملاً غاية في الأهمية في سياسة المياه المصرية ذلك أن الموارد السطحية والجوفية الرئيسية تنشأ جميعها خارج حدود البلاد. ويتم تقاسم نهر النيل بين 11 دولة، وترتبط موارد المياه الجوفية ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالمياه الجوفية لخزان الحجر الرملي النوبي، كما يتم تقاسم المياه الجوفية الأحفورية في جنوب غرب البلاد مع ليبيا وتشاد والسودان.

  • مصر
  • السودان
  • تشاد
  • ليبيا

الشكل1: دول المشاطئة في خزان الصخر الرملي النوبي كنسب مئوية.[1]

موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية المتنازع عليها

هناك نزاع كبير حول الوصول إلى موارد مياه النيل وحقوقها ما بين 11 دولة مشاطئة في حوض النيل. فعلى مدى قرون، كانت تعرف مصر باسم “هبة النيل” وتعتمد على النهر في جميع مياهها تقريباً. ويعتبر أي تطوير لمشاريع البنية التحتية من قبل الدول المتشاطئة، مثل السدود وشبكات الري وخطوط الأنابيب، تهديداً لمصالح مصر فيما يتعلق بمياه النيل.

وفي عام 1999، أنشأت جميع دول المشاطئة مبادرة حوض النيل في محاولةٍ لتعزيز التعاون وتوفير منتدى للتشاور والتنسيق بين دول الحوض من أجل الإدارة والتنمية المستدامتين لمياه حوض النيل المشتركة والموارد ذات الصلة. ومع ذلك، ومنذ عام 2007، فقد أدى النزاع المستمر حول الإتفاقية الإطارية الشاملة إلى تعطيل المفاوضات. ويتمثل جوهر الخلاف حول ما إذا كان يجب أن تعترف الاتفاقية الإطارية الشاملة باستهلاك المياه الحالي لدول المصب وبالمعاهدات في الحقبة الاستعمارية، وبالتحديد باتفاق بين مصر والسودان منذ عام 1959، والذي تعتبره دول المصب أنه يُعيق دول المنبع من تطوير مواردها المائية دون موافقة دول المصب؛ فقد كانت دول المصب تصر على الاعتراف الصريح بما تعتبره استهلاكها التاريخي للمياه وحقوقها، بينما تصر دول المشاطئة عند المنبع على حقهم في تنمية مواردهم المائية، مما قد يؤثر بشكلٍ كبير على تدفق النهر في اتجاه المصب.

وقد تصاعدت حدة التوتر في عام 2011 عندما أعلنت إثيوبيا بناء سد النهضة، أكبر سدٍ في أفريقيا. ولطالما كان السودان دوراً محيطياًإلى حدٍ كبير فيما يتعلق بالنزاعات حول سد النهضة؛ حيث قلل من الآثار السلبية المحتملة للسد ودعم قرارات إثيوبيا، في حين تنظر مصر إلى بناء سد النهضة كتهديدٍ لأمنها القومي بسبب تأثيره السلبي المحتمل على موارد المياه في مصر.

المعاهدات والاتفاقيات

قد كان نهر النيل في صلب العديد من المعاهدات والاتفاقيات على مر السنين. واليوم، يخضع توزيع مياه النيل لاتفاقية تقاسم مياه النيل، وهي اتفاقية ثنائية بين مصر والسودان قد تم توقيعها في نوفمبر 1959. وقد خصصت هذه الكمية 55,5 مليار متر مكعب من المياه في السنة لمصر.

العامالدول المعنيةالبنود الرئيسية
1929مصر وبريطانيا (تمثل السودان وكينيا وتنزانيا وأوغندا)عدم القيام بأعمال على نهر النيل من شأنها أن تقلل من حجم مياه النيل التي تصل إلى مصر.
1959مصر والسودانالاستفادة من مياه النيل بعد إنشاء السد العالي بأسوان التي تتقاسمها مصر (55,5 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة) والسودان (18,5 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة). وتأسيس الهيئة الفنية المشتركة الدائمة لمياه النيل لتعزيز التعاون الفني بين البلدين ودول حوض النيل.
1993مصر وإثيوبيالا يجوز لأي من البلدين الشروع في أي أعمالٍ على نهر النيل يمكنها أن تضر وتؤثر على البلدان الأخرى، إلى جانب التشاور والتعاون بين البلدين لاستخدام مياه النيل، وزيادة تدفق المياه والحد من الخسائر.
2015مصر وإثيوبيا والسودانتلتزم الدول بالتعاون القائم على التفاهم المشترك والمنفعة المتبادلة وحسن النية وقاعدة المكسب لجميع الأطراف ومبادىء القانون الدولي لتسوية أي نزاع حول سد النهضة.

الجدول 1: الاتفاقيات الرئيسية بين مصر ودول حوض النيل الأخرى.

[1] Nubian Sandstone Aquifer Response under Regional Development, K Abu-Zeid, CEDARE 2002. Available at : https://sites.stedwards.edu/pangaea/the-nubian-sandstone-aquifer-dispute/

Home / Egypt / Shared Water Resources in Egypt

Shared Water Resources in Egypt

The Nile
Photo 1: River Nile, Egypt. (Source: Roderick Eime, Flickr)

Shared Surface and Groundwater Resources

The international aspect is a crucial factor in Egyptian water policy because the main surface and groundwater resources all originate outside the country’s borders. The Nile River is shared between 11 countries, groundwater resources are closely linked to the Nubian sandstone aquifer and fossil groundwater in the south-west of the country is shared with Libya, Chad and Sudan.

  • Egypt
  • Sudan
  • Chad
  • Libya

Figure 1. The Nubian sandstone aquifer’s riparian state land as percentages.[1]

Disputed Surface and Groundwater Resources

There is significant conflict over access and rights to Nile water resources among the 11 riparian countries of the Nile Basin. Known for centuries as ‘the gift of the Nile’, Egypt is dependent on the river for virtually all of its water. Any development of infrastructure projects by the upstream riparians, such as dams, irrigation networks and pipelines, is considered a threat to Egypt’s interests regarding Nile water.

In 1999, all the riparian countries established the NBI in an attempt to strengthen cooperation and provide a forum for consultation and coordination among the basin states for the sustainable management and development of the shared Nile Basin water and related resources. Yet, since 2007, an ongoing dispute over the Cooperative Framework Agreement (CFA) has stalled the negotiations. The essence of the dispute is whether or not the CFA should recognize current water use of the downstream countries and colonial-era treaties, specifically an agreement between Egypt and Sudan from 1959, which the downstream countries consider to preclude upstream countries from developing their water resources without the consent of downstream countries. Downstream countries have been insisting on an explicit recognition of what they consider their historic water use and rights, while upstream riparians insist on their right to develop their water resources, which could significantly impact downstream river flows.

Tensions came to a head in 2011 when Ethiopia announced the construction of the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD), Africa’s largest dam. Sudan has been largely peripheral in the disputes over GERD, downplaying the dam’s potentially negative effects and throwing its support behind Ethiopia, while Egypt views the construction of GERD as a threat to its national security because of its potentially negative impact on Egypt’s water resources.

Treaties and Agreements

The Nile River has been the subject of numerous treaties and agreements over the years. Today, the distribution of Nile water is governed by the Nile Waters Treaty, a bilateral agreement between Egypt and Sudan that was signed in November 1959. This allocated 55.5 BCM/yr to Egypt.

YearInvolved CountriesMain Items
1929Egypt and Britain (representing Sudan, Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda)No works to be undertaken on the Nile, which would reduce the volume of Nile water reaching Egypt.
1959Egypt and SudanUtilization of Nile water after construction of the Aswan High Dam to be shared by Egypt (55.5 BCM/yr) and Sudan (18.5 BCM/yr). Establishment of the Permanent Joint Technical Commission for Nile Water to enhance the technical cooperation between both countries and Nile Basin countries.
1993Egypt and EthiopiaNeither country should embark on any works on the Nile that could harm and affect other countries, and consultation and cooperation between both countries for utilization of Nile water, increase water flow and to reduce losses.
2015Egypt, Ethiopia and SudanThe countries committed to cooperate based on common understanding, mutual benefit, good faith, win-win and principles of international law to settle any dispute over GERD.

Table 1. Main agreements between Egypt and other Nile Basin countries.

[1] Nubian Sandstone Aquifer Response under Regional Development, K Abu-Zeid, CEDARE 2002. Available at : https://sites.stedwards.edu/pangaea/the-nubian-sandstone-aquifer-dispute/