الصفحة الرئيسية / السودان

السودان

المياه في السودان
الصورة (1): أهرام موري ، السودان ( المصدر:Valerian Guillot, Flickr ).

المساهمون:

الكاتب: عاصم المغربي، أستاذ فخري في علم البيئة في جامعة الخرطوم بالسودان. وهو عضو في الأكاديمية الوطنية السودانية للعلوم وعضو مؤسس للجمعية السودانية لحفظ البيئة.

المراجع: الأستاذ التيجاني عبد الجليل ،أستاذ مشارك في إدارة الموارد المائية. وهو يعمل في معهد إدارة المياه في جامعة الجزيرة كباحث والآن هو عميد المعهد. ويعمل أيضا كخبير في مجال الموارد المائية الزراعية.

يُصنف السودان، على الرغم من موارده المائية الوفيرة والمتنوعة، ضمن البلدان التي تعاني من الإجهاد المائي. علاوةً على ذلك، يعدّ عدم انتظام الهطول المطري والفيضانات وتراكم الطمي وتآكل ضفاف الأنهار والتلوث من معوقات تنمية الموارد المائية، أضف إلى ذلك قضايا الحوكمة، مثل ضعف المؤسسات وعدم كفاية إنفاذ القوانين، والموارد المائية العابرة للحدود، وتغير المناخ مما يسبب المزيد من التحديات لاستدامة الموارد المائية.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

يُعتبر السودان، الذي تبلغ مساحته 1,8 مليون كيلومتر مربع، ثالث أكبر دولةٍ في إفريقيا. وبشكلٍ عام، تتألف البلاد من السهول المنبسطة، مع القليل من النتوءات الجبلية مثل جبل مرة في الغرب، وتلال البحر الأحمر في الشرق، وجبال الإنقسنا وجبال النوبة في الوسط. يبلغ طول ساحل السودان 853 كيلومتراً،[1] ويشترك في الحدود مع سبع دول، بما فيها مصر من الشمال، وليبيا من الشمال الشرقي، وتشاد من الغرب، وجمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى إلى الجنوب الغربي، وجنوب السودان من الجنوب، وإثيوبيا إلى الجنوب الشرقي، وإريتريا من الشرق (الخريطة 1). يحدّ السودان سبعة بلدان ولها خط ساحلي يبلغ طوله 750 كم (الخريطة 1). المناخ استوائي، مع تغيرات يومية وموسمية كبيرة في درجات الحرارة.

خريطة السودان
الخريطة (1): خريطة السودان. @Fanack water

تتراوح المناطق المناخية بين الصحراء القاحلة في الشمال إلى شبه القاحلة في أقصى الجنوب، والتي تتأثر بالرياح الموسمية. يزداد متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي من الشمال إلى الجنوب، حيث يتراوح ما بين صفر ملم تقريباً في الشمال إلى أكثر من 800 ملم في منطقة السافانا المغطاة بالحشائش الكثيفة في الجنوب، والتي تتراوح مدتها ما بين بضعة أيام إلى أربعة أشهر (الخريطة 2). كما انخفض متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي من حوالي 425 ملم عام 1941 إلى حوالي 360 ملم عام 2000. [2] وتتراوح درجة الحرارة القصوى في الصيف ما بين 37 درجة مئوية إلى 44 درجة مئوية، وما بين 18 درجة مئوية و21 درجة مئوية في أبرد الأشهر. وخلال الفترة 1960-2009، كان متوسط درجة الحرارة يزداد باطراد بين 0,2 درجة مئوية و0,4 درجة مئوية كل عقد، ونتيجةً لذلك، زادت معدلات التبخر وفرص حدوث الجفاف [3]. ينقطع النمط المناخي بنظام هطول الأمطار في فصل الشتاء على طول ساحل البحر الأحمر وفي مرتفعاته.

المناخ في السودان
الخريطة (2): المناطق المناخية في السودان. @Fanack water

السكان

بلغ عدد سكان السودان، في عام 2019، حوالي 43 مليون نسمة بمعدل نمو 2,39% [4]. يوضح الشكلان (1) و(2) معدل النمو السكاني بين عامي 1960 و2019.

أعداد الشباب في السودان مرتفعة جداً، إذ يبلغ ما نسبته 62% من السكان 25 عاماً أو أقل [7]. قُدّر معدل النمو السكاني السنوي في بـ2,39% في عام [8] 2019، ويعيش نحو 34,9% من السكان في المراكز الحضرية مع نمو سكاني حضري سنوي وصل إلى 3,2% في عام 2019. [9] فليس التوزيع الجغرافي للسكان غير متوازنٍ إلى حدٍ كبيرٍ فحسب، بل ازدادت أيضاً الكثافة السكانية من 13 شخص/ كم2 عام 1994 إلى متوسط وطني يبلغ 16 شخص/ كم2 في عام 2008، مع تركيزاتٍ أعلى في المدن الرئيسية. وتبلغ الكثافة السكانية في الخرطوم 238 شخص/ كم2، و153 شخص/ كم2 في ولاية الجزيرة وعلى طول السهول الفيضية الخصبة على نهر النيل. [10] تخلق جميع هذه العوامل عبئاً اجتماعياً- اقتصادياً حرجاً في هذه الولايات.

وقُدرت نسبة السكان الذين يحصلون على مياه شرب آمنة بما نسبته 51% عام 2008، مقارنةً بما نسبته 75% من سكان الحضر الذين يحصلون على خدمات الصرف الصحي.

الشكل (1): سكان السودان (1960-2019).[5]

الشكل (2): معدل النمو السكاني في السودان (1970-2019).[6]

الاقتصاد

السودان بلد منخفض الدخل حيث بلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي 30.5 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2019 [11]، وقد انخفض نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي منذ خلافة جنوب السودان الغنية بالنفط وبلغ 816.54 دولارًا أمريكيًا في عام 2018.[12] يتجه الاقتصاد السوداني بشكل كبير نحو الزراعة والبدو. يبلغ متوسط ​​مساهمة القطاعات الاقتصادية المختلفة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، باستثناء البترول ، على النحو التالي: الزراعة بما في ذلك الغابات وتربية الحيوانات وصيد الأسماك حوالي 39٪.[13] التجارة والتمويل والخدمات 36٪ ؛ الصناعة والتعدين حوالي 11٪ ؛ النقل والمواصلات 6٪؛ والبناء حوالي 6٪. تعتبر الكتلة الحيوية (خشب الوقود والفحم ومخلفات المحاصيل) المصدر الرئيسي للطاقة ، خاصة في المناطق الريفية حيث يستغل السكان الغطاء الشجري بشكل مفرط. المساهمة الاقتصادية لقطاعي الكهرباء والمياه لا تذكر. فقد قطاع النفط أهميته منذ انفصال جنوب السودان بسبب الصراع وعدم الاستقرار. ومع ذلك ، اكتسب تعدين الذهب الحرفي والتجاري أهمية كبديل للدخل المفقود من عائدات النفط.

[1] Food and Agriculture Organization, 2019. Fishery and Aquaculture Country Profiles: Sudan. Available at http://www.fao.org/fishery/facp/SDN/en#CountrySector-Statistics
[2] HCENR, 2007. National Adaptation Programme of Action – Republic of the Sudan. Ministry of Environment and Physical Development Higher Council for Environment and Natural Resources.
[3] The World Bank. Climate Change Knowledge Portal. Available at https://climateknowledgeportal.worldbank.org/country/sudan/climate-data-historical
[4] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[5] Ibid
[6] Ibid
[7] CBS, 2013. Central Bureau of Statistics Annual and UNFPA Fact Sheet on Population Dynamics of Sudan.
[8] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[9] Ibid.
[10] CBS, 2013. Central Bureau of Statistics Annual and UNFPA Fact Sheet on Population Dynamics of Sudan.
[11] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[12] United Nations Environment Programme, 2020. Sudan: First State of Environment and Outlook Report 2020. Available at https://www.unep.org/resources/report/sudan-first-state-environment-outlook-report-2020
[13] Ibid

Home / Sudan

Sudan

Sudan Water
Photo 1: Meroe pyramids at sunrise, Sudan (Source: Valerian Guillot, Flickr).

Contributors:

Authors: Asim El-Moghraby is an Emeritus Professor of Ecology atvthe University of Khartoum, Sudan. He is a member of the Sudanese National Academy of Science and a founding member of the Sudanese Environment Conservation Society.

Peer Reviewer: Eltigani E. Abdelgalil is an Associate Professor on water resources management. He works at the Water Management and Irrigation Institute (WMII) of the University of Gezira as researcher and now he is the Dean of the Institute. He also works as agricultural water resources expert.

Despite its abundant and diverse water resources, Sudan is classified as a water-stressed country. The erratic rainfall, floods, siltation, riverbank erosion and pollution hinder the development of the water resources. Governance issues such as Adding to this, weak institutions and inadequate enforcement of laws, transboundary water resources, and climate change create further challenges for the sustainability of water resources.

Geography and climate

With an area of 1.8 million km², Sudan is the third-largest country in Africa. It consists generally of flat plains, with a few mountain outcrops such as Jebel Marra in the west, the Red Sea Hills in the east and the Ingessna Hills and the Nuba Mountains in the centre. It is bordered by seven countries and has a coastline of 750km (Map 1). Sudan has a coastline of 853 km [1] and shares boarders with seven countries, including Egypt to the north, Libya to the north-east, Chad to the west, the Central African Republic to the south-west, South Sudan to the south, Ethiopia to the south-east and Eritrea to the east (Map 1).

Sudan
Map 1 : Map of Sudan. @Fanack water

The climate is tropical, with large daily and seasonal variations in temperature. Climatic zones range from arid desert in the north to semi-arid in the extreme south, which is affected by the monsoon. The average annual rainfall increases from north to south, ranging from almost zero millimetres (mm) in the north to over 800mm in the tall grass savannah regions in the south, and from a few days to four months in duration (Map 2). Average annual rainfall has declined from about 425mm in 1941 to about 360mm in 2000.[2] The maximum temperature ranges between 37°C and 44°C in summer, and between 18°C and 21°C in the coldest month. Over the period 1960-2009, the average temperature has been increasing steadily between 0.2°C and 0.4°C per decade. As a result, evaporation rates and chances of drought events increased.[3] The climatic pattern is interrupted by the winter rainfall regime along the Red Sea coast and in its highlands.

Climate Sudan
Map 2: Climate zones of Sudan. @Fanack water

Population

As of 2019, the population of Sudan is around 43 million with growth rate as of 2.39% [4]. Figures 1 and 2 illustrate the population and growth rate between 1960 and 2019.

Sudan has a high number of young people, with 62% of the population aged 25 years and under.[7] The annual population growth rate has been estimated as 2.39% in 2019.[8]. Around 34.9% of the population lives in urban centres with annual urban population growth as 3.2% in 2019.[9] Not only is the geographical distribution of the population highly unbalanced, population density has increased from 13 people/km2 in 1994 to a national average of 16 people/km2 in 2008, with higher concentrations in the main towns. The population density is 238 people/km2 in Khartoum and 153 people/km2 in Gezira State and along the fertile floodplains of the Nile.[10] All these factors are creating a critical socio-economic burden for these states.

The percentage of the population with access to safe drinking water was estimated to be 51% in 2008, compared with 75% of the urban population that had access to sanitation services.

Figure 1: Population of Sudan (1960-2019).[5]

Figure 2: The population growth rate in Sudan (1970-2019).[6]

Economy

Sudan is a low income country with a Gross domestic product (GDP) of 30.5 billion USD in 2019 [11], GDP per capita has been declining since the succession of rich-oil South Sudan and reached 816.54 USD in 2018 [12]. The Sudanese economy is heavily oriented towards agriculture and nomadism. The average contribution of the various economic sectors to GDP, excluding petroleum, is as follows: agriculture including forestry, animal husbandry and fishing is about 39% [13]; commerce, finance and services 36%; industry and mining about 11%; transport and communication 6%; and construction about 6%. Biomass (fuel wood, charcoal and crop residues) is the major source of energy, especially in rural areas where the population overexploits the tree cover. The economic contribution of the electricity and water sectors is negligible. The oil sector has lost its importance since the secession of South Sudan, due to conflict and instability. However, artisanal and commercial gold mining has gained importance, as a substitute for lost income from oil revenues.

[1] Food and Agriculture Organization, 2019. Fishery and Aquaculture Country Profiles: Sudan. Available at http://www.fao.org/fishery/facp/SDN/en#CountrySector-Statistics
[2] HCENR, 2007. National Adaptation Programme of Action – Republic of the Sudan. Ministry of Environment and Physical Development Higher Council for Environment and Natural Resources.
[3] The World Bank. Climate Change Knowledge Portal. Available at https://climateknowledgeportal.worldbank.org/country/sudan/climate-data-historical
[4] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[5] Ibid
[6] Ibid
[7] CBS, 2013. Central Bureau of Statistics Annual and UNFPA Fact Sheet on Population Dynamics of Sudan.
[8] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[9] Ibid.
[10] CBS, 2013. Central Bureau of Statistics Annual and UNFPA Fact Sheet on Population Dynamics of Sudan.
[11] The World Bank Data. Available at https://data.worldbank.org/country/sudan
[12] United Nations Environment Programme, 2020. Sudan: First State of Environment and Outlook Report 2020. Available at https://www.unep.org/resources/report/sudan-first-state-environment-outlook-report-2020
[13] Ibid